Builder of individual houses for 50 years

throughout the south-west of France

Construction of a house in the Basque Country: the assurance of a relaxed way of life between mountains, nature and the ocean

  • Home
  • >
  • House Building Regions
  • >
  • Construction of a house in the Basque Country: the assurance of a relaxed way of life between mountains, nature and the ocean

Table of contents

When we talk about new life and building a house, the Basque Country is a dream. And there is indeed something to dream about! Choosing to build a house in the Basque Country means enjoying a 100% natural living environment and an ideal climate, between the mountains and the ocean. But also to live within a culture and a heritage (especially gastronomic) of a rare richness. And finally to benefit from certain economic advantages, whatever the city or village of your choice. Maisons SIC has been building houses in the South-West (and the Basque Country) for nearly 50 years and presents you with all the advantages of the Basque Country. 

 

The Basque Country: acclaimed for years for the construction of your house

The French are fans of the Basque Country. And since the various confinements, it is a region of France which has taken on more and more value. Especially real estate. And touristy! In 2021, Bayonne was ranked second best city in France where life is good, according to the association Villes et Villages (behind Annecy). 

But what are we talking about when we talk about the Basque Country? The Basque Country, or Euskal Herria, is first and foremost a territory where people speak… Basque! And it extends over France but also over Spain. Traditionally, as explained by wikipedia, the Basque Country is described as formed by the union of seven provinces, or historical territories. Four south of the Pyrenees form the Spanish Basque Country (or Southern Basque Country) (Hegoald) and three to the north form the French Basque Country (or Northern Basque Country) (iparralde).

Here, we will only talk about the French Basque Country, which extends from Erbre to Adour, over 20 km500 and which is divided into three provinces:

  • The Labourd: located on the Atlantic coast, it hosts the cities of Biarritz, Anglet, Saint-Jean-de-Luz and Hendaye. Inland, there are also the towns of Espelette, Cambo-les-Bains or Bayonne, capital of Labourd.
  • Lower Navarre : its capital is Saint-Jean-Pied-de-Port.
  • Soulé : with cities like Larrau or Mauléon-Licharre.

Cost of an installation in the Basque country

 

Varied landscapes, between countryside, sea and mountains

One of the big advantages of building your house in the Basque Country is that you are in constant contact with nature, even when you live in town. And nature is multiple on this territory! 

It is on the Labourd side that you will find the beautiful beaches of the Basque coast with a certain maritime influence. In Anglet, Bidart, Guéthary, Saint-Jean-de-Luz or Hendaye, enjoy magnificent beaches all year round. The mountains and one of the most generous natures dominate in Soule and Lower Navarre. On more than half of the Basque Country, you will find mountains exceeding 400m in height. 

 

The climate of the Basque Country, mild all year round

Varied and Strongly influenced by the Atlantic Ocean, the climate of the Basque Country allows nature to flourish and the vegetation is rich and green all year round. By building your new home in the Basque Country, you benefit from a temperate climate and mild temperatures, with regular rainfall in winter and sun almost present all year round (or at least every other day, according to the Basques).

 

Building your house in the Basque Country: for a land of unique culture and heritage

The Basque Country is not a neutral territory. It is rich in a different language but also in traditions deeply rooted in its history and culture. 

 

Basque culture and heritage: celebrations and sharing

Cultural life is very intense in the Basque Country and the Basques are proud to highlight their cultural heritage: dances and songs are very present during the various cultural events, as well as sport: Basque pelota, Basque power games and all sliding sports (surfing in the lead). And all the inhabitants actively participate in more than 3000 festivities organized during the year, in particular the Bayonne festivals which have existed for more than 80 years. 

In terms of Basque heritage, this Country of Art and History has many remarkable sites and monuments: the birthplace of Maurice Ravel, the prehistoric caves of Sare, those of Isturitz and Oxocelhaya, the castle of Urtubie …

 

Basque gastronomy, a pillar of the region

If there are many seafood products on the shelves of Basque markets, it is for products of the land that the Basque Country is particularly recognized. Sheep's milk cheese (ardi-gasna), duck from the South-West, Espelette pepper, Basque cake, Bayonne ham or Marmitako (a tuna stew). 

 

The undeniable economic assets of the Basque Country

build your house in bayone

The Basque Country is not a landlocked territory, economically speaking. On the contrary, it is a place where entrepreneurship is very developed, in particular thanks to tourism, which contributes to a reduction in unemployment on the Basque coast (6,6% in Pyrénées Atlantique). Trade is also a highly developed activity in the area.

The Basque Country also benefits from a privileged location at the crossroads of national and cross-border economic axes and leading infrastructures (Port of Bayonne, Biarritz airport, TGV stations, European Freight Centre) which make life easier for its inhabitants. and its openness to other territories, national or international. 

 

Real estate: attractive land prices

To find places where real estate prices have not soared, you must of course move away from the very popular Basque coast. In the land and large rural areas, the prices of land and m2 are still perfectly affordable (for example, when we are around €6 per m680 in Biarritz, we go down to €2 in Saint-Jean- Pied-de-Port.

 

Real estate figures according to the cities of the Basque Country

Sud-Ouest has recently shown that he is often more interesting to build than to buy old in the Basque Country

And, in this context, the newspaper has published real estate figures by town and village, which are particularly telling. 

How much does a house cost in the Basque country?

 

Where to build your house in the Basque Country?

If the inland is more financially affordable, some towns near the coast are still very interesting for building a house. 

 

Bayonne, city n°1 of the Basque sweetness of life

As we have seen, Bayonne was ranked the second city in France where life is good, behind Annecy and ahead of Angers and La Rochelle. Unlike its neighbor Biarritz, this city full of charm is still affordable in terms of real estate prices, if you move away from the very popular city center (around 4000 € per m2).  

 

The cities of the Basque coast: choosing outside of Biarritz

A municipality near Bayonne is one of the top 25 cities with more than 2 inhabitants where life is good: Anglet, which is 000st. Its economic dynamism and its maritime atmosphere continue to please. Still on the coastth ranking of the Association of Towns and Villages of France also honors the city of Boucau (145th), as well as Saint-Jean-de-Luz, the city of corsairs (224th), Bidart (274th) and finally Saint-Pierre-d'Irube ranked 371st, but first of the cities counting between 3 and 500 inhabitants!

 

The villages of the Basque Country: a wise choice for the construction of your new house

If it is sometimes difficult to find land to build your house around the big cities of the Basque Country, the villages can be an interesting solution. 

Still within the framework of the survey of the Association of Towns and Villages of France, a village in the Basque Country stands out: Guéthary, on the Basque coast. 

But inland, you will find very lively villages, labeled among the “most beautiful villages in France”: Ainhoa, La Bastide Clairence, Saint-Jean-Pied-de-Port and Sare. But you also have to count on the very pleasant villages of La Bastide-Clairence, Espelette, Saint-Pée-sur-Nivelle, Itxassou, Ustaritz or Arcangues.

You want to start building a new house in the Basque Country, supported by a trusted builder: CONTACT US

Share:

Facebook
Twitter
Pinterest
LinkedIn
Email
WhatsApp
Continue reading

Other recent articles

Constructeur de maisons individuelles depuis près de 50 ans

dans tout le sud-ouest de la France​​

Construction d’une maison au Pays Basque : l’assurance d’une douceur de vivre entre montagne, nature et océan

Table des matières

Quand on parle de nouvelle vie et de construction de maison, le Pays basque fait rêver. Et il y a de quoi rêver en effet ! Opter pour la construction d’une maison au Pays Basque c’est profiter d’un cadre de vie 100% nature et d’un climat idéal, entre la montagne et l’océan. Mais aussi de vivre au sein d’une culture et d’un patrimoine (notamment gastronomique) d’une rare richesse. Et enfin de bénéficier d’atouts économiques certains, quelque soit la ville ou le village de votre choix. Maisons SIC construit des maisons dans le Sud-Ouest (et le Pays Basque) depuis près de 50 ans et vous présente tous les atouts du Pays Basque. 

 

Le Pays Basque : plébiscité depuis des années pour la construction de votre maison

Les français sont fans du Pays Basque. Et depuis les divers confinements, c’est une région de France qui a pris de plus en plus de valeur. Notamment immobilière. Et touristique ! En 2021, Bayonne s’est classée deuxième meilleure ville de France où il fait bon vivre, selon l’association Villes et Villages (derrière Annecy). 

Mais de quoi parle-t-on quand on parle de Pays Basque ? Le Pays Basque, ou Euskal Herria, est tout d’abord un territoire où l’on parle… basque ! Et il s’étend sur la France mais aussi sur l’Espagne. Traditionnellement, comme expliqué par wikipedia, le Pays basque est décrit comme formé par la réunion de sept provinces, ou territoires historiques. Quatre au sud des Pyrénées forment le Pays basque espagnol (ou Pays basque sud) (Hegoalde) et trois au nord forment le Pays basque français (ou Pays basque nord) (Iparralde).

Ici, nous ne parlerons que de Pays Basque français, qui s’étend de l’Erbre à l’Adour, sur 20 500 km2 et qui se divise en trois provinces :

  • Le Labourd: situé sur la façade atlantique, il accueille les villes de Biarritz, Anglet, Saint-Jean-de-Luz ou encore Hendaye. Dans les terres, se trouvent également les villes d’Espelette, Cambo-les-Bains ou Bayonne, capitale du Labourd.
  • La Basse Navarre : son chef-lieu est Saint-Jean-Pied-de-Port.
  • La Soule : avec des villes comme Larrau ou Mauléon-Licharre.

Cout d'une installation au pays basque

 

Des paysages variés, entre campagne, mer et montagne

L’un des gros avantages de faire construire sa maison dans le Pays Basque, c’est que l’on est en contact permanent avec la nature, même quand on habite en ville. Et la nature est multiple sur ce territoire ! 

C’est du côté du Labourd que vous trouverez les belles plages de la côte basque avec une influence maritime certaine. A Anglet, Bidart, Guéthary, Saint-Jean-de-Luz ou Hendaye, profitez de magnifiques plages toute l’année. La montagne et une nature des plus généreuses dominent dans la Soule et la Basse-Navarre. Sur plus de la moitié du Pays basque, vous trouverez alors des montagnes dépassant les 400m de hauteur. 

 

Le climat du Pays Basque, doux toute l’année

Varié et fortement influencé par l’océan Atlantique, le climat du Pays Basque permet à la nature de s’épanouir et la végétation est riche et verte toute l’année. En construisant votre maison neuve dans le Pays Basque, vous profitez d’un climat tempéré et de températures douces, avec des précipitations régulières en hiver et du soleil quasiment présent toute l’année (ou au moins un jour sur deux, selon les basques).

 

Construire votre maison au Pays Basque : pour un terre de culture et de patrimoine uniques

Le Pays basque n’est pas un territoire neutre. Il est riche d’une langue différente mais aussi de traditions très ancrées dans son histoire et sa culture. 

 

Culture et Patrimoine Basques : fêtes et partage

La vie culturelle est très intense aux Pays basque et les Basques sont fiers de mettre en exergue leur patrimoine culturel : danses et chants sont très présents lors des divers événements culturels, ainsi que le sport : la pelote basque, les jeux de force basque et tous les sports de glisse (surf en tête). Et tous les habitants participent activement à plus de 3000 festivités organisées au cours de l’année, notamment les fêtes de Bayonne qui existent depuis plus de 80 ans. 

Du côté du patrimoine basque, ce Pays d’Art et d’Histoire dispose de nombreux sites et monument remarquables : la maison natale de Maurice Ravel, les grottes préhistoriques de Sare, celles d’Isturitz et d’Oxocelhaya, le château d’Urtubie…

 

La gastronomie basque, pilier de la région

S’il existe de nombreux produits de la mer sur les étales des marchés basques, ce sont pour des produits de la terre que le Pays Basque est particulièrement reconnu . Le fromage au lait de brebis (ardi-gasna), le canard du Sud-Ouest, le piment d’Espelette, le gâteau basque, le jambon de Bayonne ou le Marmitako (un ragoût de thon). 

 

Les atouts économiques indéniables du Pays Basque

construire sa maison à bayone

Le Pays Basque n’a rien d’un territoire enclavé, économiquement parlant. C’est au contraire un endroit où l’entrepreneuriat est très développé, notamment grâce au tourisme, qui participe à une réduction du chômage sur la côte Basque (6,6% en Pyrénées Atlantique). Le commerce est également une activité très développée dans la zone.

Le Pays Basque bénéficie aussi d’une situation privilégiée au carrefour d’axes économiques nationaux et transfrontalier et d’infrastructures de premier plan (Port de Bayonne, aéroport de Biarritz, gares TGV, Centre européen de fret) qui facilitent la vie de ses habitants et son ouverture sur les autres territoires, nationaux ou internationaux. 

 

Immobilier : des prix attractifs dans les terres

Pour trouver des lieux où les prix de l’immobilier n’ont pas flambé, il faut bien entendu s’éloigner de la très prisée côte basque. Dans les terres et les grandes zones rurales, les prix des terrains et du m2 sont encore parfaitement abordables (par exemple, quand on est autour de 6 680 € le m2 à Biarritz, l’on descend à 2 500 € à Saint-Jean-Pied-de-Port.

 

Les chiffres de l’immobilier selon les villes du Pays Basque

Sud-Ouest a récemment montré qu’il était souvent plus intéressant de construire que d’acheter de l’ancien dans le Pays Basque

Et, dans ce cadre, le journal a publié les chiffres de l’immobilier par ville et village, qui sont particulièrement parlants. 

Combien coute une maison au pays basque ?

 

Où construire sa maison au Pays basque ?

Si l’intérieur des terres est plus abordable financièrement, certaines communes proche du littoral sont encore très intéressantes pour la construction d’une maison. 

 

Bayonne, ville n°1 de la douceur de vivre basque

Nous l’avons vu, Bayonne a été classée seconde ville de France où il fait bon vivre, derrière Annecy et devant Angers et La Rochelle. Contrairement à sa voisine Biarritz, cette ville pleine de charme est encore abordable en termes de prix immobiliers, si l’on s’éloigne du centre-ville très prisé (autour de 4000 € le m2).  

 

Les villes de la côte basque : choisir hors de Biarritz

Une municipalité proche de Bayonne figure dans les 25 premières villes de plus de 2 000 habitants où il fait bon vivre : Anglet qui est 21ème. Son dynamisme économique et son ambiance maritime continuent de plaire. Toujours sur la côte, le classement de l’association des Villes et Villages de France honore également la ville de Boucau (145ème), ainsi que Saint-Jean-de-Luz, la cité des corsaires (224e), Bidart (274e) et enfin Saint-Pierre-d’Irube classée 371ème, mais première des villes comptant entre 3 500 et 5 000 habitants !

 

Les villages du Pays Basque : un choix judicieux pour la construction de votre maison neuve

S’il est parfois compliqué de trouver un terrain pour construire sa maison autour des grandes villes du Pays basque, les villages peuvent être une solution intéressante. 

Toujours dans le cadre du sondage de l’Association des Villes et Villages de France, un village du Pays basque se détache du lot : Guéthary, sur la côte Basque. 

Mais dans les terres, vous trouverez des villages très vivants,  labellisés parmi les “plus beaux villages de France” : Ainhoa, La Bastide Clairence, Saint-Jean-Pied-de-Port et Sare. Mais il faut aussi compter sur les très agréables villages de La Bastide-Clairence, Espelette, Saint-Pée-sur-Nivelle, Itxassou, Ustaritz ou Arcangues.

Vous souhaitez vous lancer dans la construction d’une maison neuve dans le Pays basque, épaulé·e par un constructeur de confiance : CONTACTEZ-NOUS

Partager :

Partager sur facebook
Facebook
Partager sur twitter
Twitter
Partager sur pinterest
Pinterest
Partager sur linkedin
LinkedIn
Partager sur email
Email
Partager sur whatsapp
WhatsApp
Continuer la lecture

Autres articles récents

Laissez nous vos coordonnées pour avoir plus d’informations… Ou cliquez sur les images au dessus.