Builder of individual houses for 50 years

throughout the south-west of France

How to arrange your roof terrace (authorizations, uses, etc.)?

  • Home
  • >
  • planning
  • >
  • How to arrange your roof terrace (authorizations, uses, etc.)?
how to arrange your roof terrace?

Table of contents

Modern, design, original, the house with a flat roof has many aesthetic advantages. But also practical! One of them is the possibility of installing a roof terrace to gain even more living space. Outdoor dining room, relaxation area, gym, vegetable garden… The layout of your roof terrace can take on various faces. SIC houses, a specialist in the construction of modern houses (particularly flat roofs) for 50 years, gives you some tips for arranging your roof terrace efficiently.  

 

Prerequisites for fitting out your roof terrace: agreements and authorizations

We pointed this out in our article. “Building your new house with a flat roof / terrace: advantages and disadvantages”, a flat roof house gives you a more contemporary, more modern style and great architectural freedom. 

House model 2024 Horizon 108m²

 

But be careful, if you want to develop your roof terrace “after the fact”, there are agreements to request and technical prerequisites to put in place: 

  • Ask the opinion of all the neighbors who have a view of your roof terrace. As explained in an article by Elle, “a case law concerning an individual's rooftop was issued in 2012 by the Court of Cassation requiring the person to remove everything installed there.”
  • Make sure you have a drainage plan in place.
  • Waterproofing is essential, so check with your modern house builder that he has installed the vapor barrier, the independence screen, the thermal insulation and the waterproofing covering which protects the platform from climatic attacks.

 

Ensure the safety of your roof terrace

the safety of the development of its roof terrace

Safety is not an option for a roof terrace, which is located high up and falls can be very serious. 1st thing to do, therefore, if it is not already in place: put in place barriers or a safety wall, a guardrail, whatever it may be, to secure the entire space. He must be : 

  • solid and opaque at least 1 m
  • with vertical bars spaced at a maximum of 11 cm.

A tacit rule, reinforced by Articles R 111-15 and R 233-13-20 of the Construction and Housing Code which regulate protection against falls from the roof terrace. A breach of this regulation results in a fine of up to €15.

 

What floor for your roof terrace?

Your roof terrace necessarily already has a floor, but you can add another covering. Call a specialist to check that the new floor chosen is compatible, for example, with water drainage. 

Among the materials to choose from, bitumen is known for its waterproofness, but it is not very aesthetic. THE PVC is not very durable outdoors. THE wood, in gratings, composite slabs, wooden slats, can prove to be very aesthetic and resistant if it is well treated upstream. THE floor tile or natural stone offer a natural appearance, but check carefully whether the weight is compatible with the structure of the building. Finally, if you dream of greenery, why not opt ​​for a synthetic grass ?

 

Arrange a roof terrace for an additional open-air room

The roof terrace allows you to enjoy the surrounding panorama in complete tranquility and to afford a real extra room, outdoors. To arrange it, you will be able to use all the furniture that we choose for a garden: table, armchairs and outdoor chairs, pergola, sunbeds, pots to put plants.  

The most popular use of a roof terrace is surely the outdoor dining room, with its large table, barbecue and pergola or large parasols to hide from the sun. 

 

A roof terrace to be converted into a vegetable garden

A garden on its roof terrace seems quite “logical”. So why not go further and take the opportunity to set up a real vegetable garden? Once again, it is essential to find out about the feasibility of the project, in particular to find out whether the earth placed on the roof terrace is not too heavy for the structure. Once assured of the possibility of planting your cabbages, you will be able to install planters with trellises, your vegetable plots and your small greenhouses. It remains only to choose what to plant. And do not forget to take into account the water points for watering!

 

A rooftop terrace that can become a gym and wellness area

Sport is always much more enjoyable outdoors. The roof terrace can therefore be the ideal place to install your weight benches and other sports equipment. And after the effort, comfort! Why not treat yourself to a “spa” area with a jacuzzi, for example? Once again, wonder about the weight of the device when it is filled. 

 

Shadow and Light: knowing how to properly arrange your roof terrace

Facing south, your roof terrace is bathed in sunshine. If you are too afraid of the heat, do not hesitate to ask your builder of modern houses to position it rather in the South-West or squarely in the North. 

To create shaded areas, opt for large shade sails or pergolas rather than parasols, which are often very bulky. 

To create a cozy terrace, which will be an ideal place to stroll on summer evenings, prefer indirect lights such as light garlands, different solar lights, recessed spotlights (easy to set up on a wooden terrace) or table lamps. 

Share:

Facebook
Twitter
Pinterest
LinkedIn
Email
WhatsApp
Continue reading

Other recent articles

Constructeur de maisons individuelles depuis 50 ans

dans tout le sud-ouest de la France​​

Comment aménager son toit-terrasse (autorisations, usages…) ?

comment aménager son toit-terrasse ?

Table des matières

Moderne, design, originale, la maison à toit plat a de nombreux atouts esthétiques. Mais aussi pratiques ! L’un d’eux est la possibilité d’aménager un toit-terrasse pour gagner encore de l’espace à vivre. Salle à manger d’extérieur, coin détente, salle de sport, potager… L’aménagement de votre toit-terrasse peut prendre divers visages. Maisons SIC, spécialiste de la construction de maisons modernes (notamment à toit plat) depuis 50 ans, vous donne quelques conseils pour aménager votre toit-terrasse avec efficacité.  

 

Pré-requis pour l’aménagement de son toit-terrasse : les accords et autorisations

Nous l’avions souligné dans notre article “Construire sa maison neuve avec un toit plat / terrasse : avantages et inconvénients”, une maison à toit plat vous assure un style plus contemporain, plus moderne et une grande liberté architecturale. 

Modele maison 2024 Horizon 108m²

 

Mais attention, si vous souhaitez aménager votre toit-terrasse “après coup”, il existe des accords à demander et des pré-requis techniques à mettre en place : 

  • Demandez l’avis de tous les voisins qui ont une vue sur votre toit terrasse. Comme expliqué dans un article de Elle, “un cas de jurisprudence concernant le rooftop d’un particulier a été émis en 2012 par la Cour de cassation obligeant la personne a enlevé tout ce qui y était installé.”
  • Pensez bien à mettre en place un plan d’évacuation des eaux.
  • L’étanchéité est primordiale donc, vérifiez avec votre constructeur de maisons modernes qu’il a bien installé le pare-vapeur, l’écran d’indépendance, l’isolant thermique et le revêtement d’étanchéité qui protège la plateforme des agressions climatiques.

 

Assurer la sécurité de son toit-terrasse

la sécurité de l'aménagement de son toit-terrasse

La sécurité n’est pas une option pour un toit terrasse, qui est situé en hauteur et dont les chutes peuvent être très graves. 1ʳᵉ chose à faire, donc, si ce n’est pas déjà en place : mettre en place des barrières ou un muret de sécurité, un garde-corps, quel qu’il soit, pour sécuriser tout l’espace. Il doit être : 

  • plein et opaque d’au moins 1 m
  • à barreaux verticaux espacés de 11 cm maximum.

Une règle tacite, renforcée par les articles R 111-15 et R 233-13-20 du Code de la construction et de l’habitation qui réglementent la protection contre les chutes depuis le toit-terrasse. Une infraction à cette réglementation entraîne jusqu’à 15 000 € d’amende.

 

Quel sol pour son toit-terrasse ?

Votre toit terrasse à forcément déjà un sol, mais vous avez la possibilité d’y apposer un autre revêtement. Faites appel à un spécialiste pour vérifier que le nouveau sol choisi est bien compatible, par exemple, avec l’évacuation des eaux. 

Parmi les matériaux à choisir, le bitume est reconnu pour son étanchéité, mais il n’est pas très esthétique. Le PVC est assez peu durable en extérieur. Le bois, en caillebotis, dalles composites, lames de bois, peut s’avérer très esthétique et résistant s’il est bien traité en amont. Le carrelage ou la pierre naturelle offrent un aspect naturel, mais vérifiez bien si le poids est compatible avec la structure du bâtiment. Enfin, si vous rêvez de verdure, pourquoi ne pas opter pour un gazon synthétique ?

 

Aménager un toit-terrasse pour une pièce en plus à ciel ouvert

Le toit terrasse permet de profiter en toute tranquillité du panorama alentour et de s’offrir une véritable pièce en plus, en extérieur. Pour l’aménager, vous allez pouvoir utiliser tout le mobilier que l’on choisit pour un jardin : table, fauteuils et chaises d’extérieur, pergola, bains de soleil, pots pour mettre des plantes.  

L’usage le plus plébiscité sur un toit terrasse est sûrement la salle à manger d’extérieur, avec sa grande table, son barbecue et sa pergola ou ses grands parasols pour se cacher du soleil. 

 

Un toit-terrasse à aménager en mode potager

Un jardin sur son toit-terrasse, cela paraît assez “logique”. Alors, pourquoi ne pas aller plus loin et en profiter pour installer un véritable potager ? Encore une fois, il est indispensable de se renseigner sur la faisabilité du projet, notamment pour savoir si la terre posée sur le toit-terrasse ne s’avère pas trop lourde pour la structure. Une fois assuré·e de la possibilité de planter vos choux, vous allez pouvoir installer des jardinières avec treillis, vos carrés potagers et vos petites serres. Il ne reste plus qu’à choisir quoi planter. Et n’oubliez pas de prendre en compte les points d’eau pour l’arrosage !

 

Un toit-terrasse qui peut devenir une salle de sport et un espace bien-être

Le sport est toujours beaucoup plus agréable en extérieur. Le toit-terrasse peut donc être le lieu idéal pour installer vos bancs de musculation et autres appareils de sport. Et après l’effort, le réconfort ! Pourquoi ne pas vous offrir un espace “spa” avec un jacuzzi par exemple ? Une fois de plus, s’interroger sur le poids de l’appareil quand il est rempli. 

 

Ombre et Lumière : savoir bien aménager son toit-terrasse

Exposé sud, votre toit terrasse est baigné de soleil. Si vous craignez trop la chaleur, n’hésitez pas à demander à votre constructeur de maisons modernes de le positionner plutôt au Sud-Ouest ou carrément au Nord. 

Pour vous aménager des zones ombragées, optez pour des grandes voiles d’ombrage ou des pergolas plutôt que pour des parasols, qui s’avèrent souvent très encombrants. 

Pour aménager une terrasse cosy, qui sera un endroit idéal pour flâner les soirs d’été, préférez les lumières indirectes comme les guirlandes lumineuses, les différentes lumières solaires, des spots encastrés (facile à mettre en place sur une terrasse en bois) ou les luminaires à poser. 

Partager :

Facebook
Twitter
Pinterest
LinkedIn
Email
WhatsApp
Continuer la lecture

Autres articles récents