Builder of individual houses for 50 years

throughout the south-west of France

Ideal plan: Cellar, garage, laundry room… essential additional rooms

  • Home
  • >
  • Interior design
  • >
  • Ideal plan: Cellar, garage, laundry room… essential additional rooms
An ideal plan does not forget the laundry annexes, garage, cellar

Table of contents

Designing an ideal plan also means imagining a house that is as beautiful as it is functional. Cellar, garage, utility room, cellar, workshop, etc., are often forgotten or placed last, in a corner. However, they are valuable allies for hiding the superfluous and simplifying everyday life and their location should leave nothing to chance. Do not hesitate to multiply these additional parts, even in a small accommodation. Sometimes a few square meters trimmed from the home itself will free up space and ultimately make you more comfortable to live in.

 

Garage cellar, laundry room, workshop, cellar: what are their 5 uses?

Ideal plan: additional rooms for storage

The primary use of these additional rooms is obviously storage. In terms of cost, it is more advantageous to invest in additional rooms with shelves than in interior fittings. Provisions, DIY items, papers, cleaning products, boxes..., everything is hidden here while remaining within reach.

House plan: hiding the equipment

Water heaters, heat pumps..., all this thermal equipment takes up a lot of space in a house. Hiding them also offers the opportunity to create a small annex room very useful.

Additional rooms for healthier housing

Cleaning products, paints, cars or boilers emit pollutants, as explained in this ADEME infographic. The annexes separated from the habitat or well ventilated make it possible to keep away the sources of pollution which harm the indoor air quality of your new house.

An anti-noise nuisance house plan

Cellars, garages, utility room accommodate noisy household equipment. Equipped with good soundproofing and placed away from nighttime areas, they limit the propagation of noise inside the house.

To go further on this subject, read the article “Sound insulation of his new house in the South-West"

What is a cellar for?

Le cellar is one of the parts not to be neglected when making build his house. Adjoining the kitchen, this small room of 2 to 5 square meters is ideal for hiding everything you want to have within reach without actually seeing it. Sometimes it is better to reduce the dimensions of your kitchen to accommodate this additional nook. Provisions, reserves, household products and household appliances (vacuum cleaner, blender, additional freezer, etc.) will find pride of place there. Often housing the hot water tank, the boiler or the heat pump, it can also serve as a laundry room and allows laundry to be dried out of sight in the heated space.

Washer, laundry, dryer, storage and water heater fill the cellar.
In this new house, built by Maisons Sic, the cellar frees the living space from its technical aspects for greater fluidity and comfort.

Ideal plan: provide the laundry room

What size for the laundry space?

While washing and drying laundry is not an exciting activity, it takes up a lot of time and space in the house. The corner utility room centralizes household appliances (washing machine-dryer), accessories (ironing board, laundry detergent, dryer, clothes pegs, etc.), as well as laundry baskets, in a single point in the house. By installing the machines one above the other, we can limit the floor space to approximately one square meter.

Laundry room: where to place the washing machine

The location for washing laundry is determined as early as possible in order to plan for water inflows and outflows, as well as well-sized ventilation if you dry the laundry there. The machines are generally installed in the kitchen or the bathroom, but they can easily be integrated under the stairs, or at the end of a corridor, behind a sliding door or a curtain. There are numerous examples of arrangements de utility room in corners of the house. However, a dedicated room or space is much more comfortable. This space can be cellar or why not a specially designed nook, or even partitioned off at the entrance to the garage.

To go further read our article “ How to design the ideal plan »

 

Ideal new house plan: Where to place garage and pantry?

Accessing the garage through the entrance to the house or through the kitchen are among the classic solutions in new house. THE cellar can then be used to make the link between the heated spaces and not heated. The location of the garage will also depend on the orientation of the house, because the latter can also be used to improve the thermal comfort of the house. The creation of a buffer zone is therefore one of the tips of the so-called bioclimatic design. Depending on the terrain of your house, the garage will be placed to the North to protect from the cold in winter, to the South to act as a heat barrier in summer, or to the West to protect from the prevailing winds.

Visit a two-storey house with a large garage of 30 m2 and cellar in Gaillac Tarn, Occitanie.

House built according to an ideal plan with garage
Well furnished, the garage is a functional and essential space for a new home.

The garage: a room for everything

Real space in addition, the garage is not just for parking your car or storing your bikes. Adjoining and communicating with the house, it offers a large storage room at hand. Well placed behind the kitchen, it can also serve as a pantry or laundry room. Its size also allows it to accommodate the workbench to serve as a DIY workshop. A separate garage meets the needs of noisy activities such as DIY.

Arrange the service rooms well

Be careful, the annexes must not become catch-alls. THE garage, cellar like the laundry room must be arranged carefully like the rest of the house. The secret: use the walls to their full height. Shelves will be essential to offer maximum functionality in a minimum of space. Water intakes, inlets and evacuations must be anticipated during construction to avoid future costs. In the same way, you can provide partitions in your garage to create areas dedicated to each activity.

Building a cellar: advantages and disadvantages

Building your house on a basement offers plenty of additional space without encroaching on the garden or gaining height. This buried room, which is not very subject to temperature variations, can obviously be used as a pantry, laundry room, storage, but also as a garage. Humid and generally not benefiting from sufficient natural lighting, it will not be suitable as a living room, but will be suitable for hosting temporary activities: gym, studio. Its construction is nevertheless more expensive than that of a garage and requires, depending on the activities, the installation of a mechanical ventilation effective.

Share:

Facebook
Twitter
Pinterest
LinkedIn
Email
Whatsapp
Continue reading

Other recent articles

Constructeur de maisons individuelles depuis 50 ans

dans tout le sud-ouest de la France​​

Plan idéal : Cellier, garage, buanderie… indispensables pièces annexes

Un plan idéal n'oublie pas les annexes buanderie, garage, cave

Table des matières

Concevoir un plan idéal c’est aussi imaginer une maison aussi belle que fonctionnelle. Cellier, garage, buanderie, cave, atelier…, sont souvent oubliés ou placés en dernier, dans un recoin. Ce sont pourtant de précieux alliés pour dissimuler le superflu et simplifier le quotidien et leur emplacement ne doit rien laisser au hasard. N’hésitez pas à multiplier ces pièces annexes, même dans un petit logement. Parfois quelques mètres carrés rognés sur l’habitation proprement dite libéreront l’espace et vous feront au final gagner en confort de vie.

 

Cellier garage, buanderie, atelier, cave : quels sont leurs 5 usages ?

Plan idéal : des pièces annexes pour le rangement

La première utilité de ces pièces annexes, c’est évidemment le rangement. En terme de coût, il est plus avantageux d’investir dans des pièces supplémentaires garnies d’étagères que dans des aménagements intérieurs. Provisions, affaires de bricolage, papiers, produits d’entretien, cartons…, ici tout se dissimule tout en restant à portée de main.

Plan de maison : dissimuler les équipements

Chauffe-eaux, pompes à chaleurs…, tous ces équipements thermiques prennent beaucoup de place dans une maison. Les dissimuler offre aussi l’occasion de créer une petite pièce annexe bien utile.

Des pièces annexes pour un logement plus sain

Les produits d’entretien, les peintures, la voiture ou les chaudières émettent des polluants, comme l’explique cette infographie de l’ADEME. Les annexes séparées de l’habitat ou bien ventilées permettent d’éloigner les sources de pollution qui nuisent à la qualité de l’air intérieur de votre maison neuve.

Un plan de maison anti nuisance sonore

Les celliers, garages, buanderie accueillent les équipements bruyants de la maison. Dotés d’une bonne isolation phonique et placés à distance des zones de nuit, ils limitent la propagation des bruits dans l’intérieur de la maison.

Pour aller plus loin sur ce sujet, lire l’article “Isolation phonique de sa maison neuve dans le Sud-Ouest

A quoi sert un cellier?

Le cellier est une des pièces à ne pas négliger lorsque l’on fait construire sa maison. Attenant à la cuisine, cette petite pièce de 2 à 5 mètres carrés est idéale pour cacher tout ce que l’on veut avoir à portée de main sans pour autant le voir. Mieux vaut parfois réduire les dimensions de sa cuisine pour aménager ce recoin supplémentaire. Provisions, réserves, produits ménagers et électroménager (aspirateur, mixeur, congélateur supplémentaire… ) y trouveront une place de choix. Accueillant souvent le ballon d’eau chaude, la chaudière ou la pompe à chaleur, il peut aussi faire office de buanderie et permet de faire sécher du linge à l’abri des regards dans le volume chauffé.

Lave, linge, sèche linge, rangements et chauffe-eau remplissent le cellier.
Dans cette maison neuve, construite par maisons Sic, le cellier libère l’espèce habitable de ses aspects techniques pour plus de fluidité et de confort.

Plan idéal : prévoir la buanderie

Quelle taille pour l’espace buanderie ?

Si le lavage et le séchage du linge ne sont pas des activités passionnantes, elles prennent énormément de temps et d’espace dans la maison. Le coin buanderie centralise en un seul point de la maison l’électroménager (lave linge- sèche linge), les accessoires (table à repasser, lessive, séchoir, pinces à linges…), ainsi que les panières à linges. En installant les machines l’une au dessus de l’autre, on peut limiter la place au sol à un mètre carré environ.

Buanderie : où placer la machine à laver

L’emplacement lié au lavage du linge est déterminé au plus tôt afin de prévoir les arrivées et les évacuations d’eau, ainsi qu’une ventilation bien dimensionnée si vous y faites sécher le linge. On installe généralement les machines dans la cuisine ou la salle de bains, mais celles-ci peuvent tout à fait s’intégrer sous l’escalier, ou au fond d’un couloir, derrière une porte coulissante ou un rideau. Il existe de nombreux exemples d’aménagements de buanderie dans des recoins de la maison. Une pièce ou un espace dédié est néanmoins bien plus confortable. Cet espace peut être le cellier ou pourquoi pas un recoin spécialement aménagé, voir cloisonné à l’entrée du garage.

Pour aller plus loin lire notre article « Comment concevoir le plan idéal »

 

Plan idéal maison neuve : Où placer garage et cellier ?

Accéder au garage par l’entrée de la maison ou par la cuisine font partie des solutions classiques en maison neuve. Le cellier peut alors servir à faire le lien entre les espaces chauffés et non chauffés. La localisation du garage dépendra aussi de l’orientation de la maison, car ce dernier peut aussi servir à améliorer le confort thermique de la maison. La création de zone tampon fait ainsi partie des astuces de la conception dite bioclimatique. En fonction du terrain de votre maison, le garage sera placé au Nord pour protéger du froid en hiver, au Sud, pour faire barrière chaleur en été, ou à l’Ouest pour protéger des vents dominants.

Visitez une maison à étage avec un grand garage de 30 m2 et cellier à Gaillac Tarn, Occitanie.

Maison construite selon un plan idéal avec garage
Bien aménagé, le garage est un espace fonctionnel et indispensable à la maison neuve.

Le garage : une pièce à tout faire

Véritable espace en plus, le garage ne sert pas qu’à garer sa voiture ou entreposer ses vélos. Attenant et communiquant avec la maison, il offre un grand espace de rangement à portée de main. Bien placé derrière la cuisine, il peut aussi faire office de cellier ou encore de buanderie. Sa taille lui permet aussi d’accueillir l’établi pour servir d’atelier de bricolage. Un garage séparé répond quant à lui aux besoins des activités bruyantes comme le bricolage.

Bien aménager les pièces de services

Attention les annexes ne doivent pas devenir des fourre-tout. Le garage, le cellier comme la buanderie doivent être aménagés soigneusement comme le reste de la maison. Le secret : utiliser les murs sur toute leur hauteur. Les étagères seront indispensables pour offrir un maximum de fonctionnalités dans un minimum d’espace. Les prises, arrivées et évacuations d’eaux doivent être anticipées dès la construction pour s’éviter des frais futurs. De la même façon, on peut prévoir des cloisons dans son garage pour créer des zones dédiées à chaque activités.

Construire une cave : avantages et inconvénients

Faire construire sa maison sur un sous sol offre beaucoup de place supplémentaire sans empiéter sur le jardin ni prendre de la hauteur. Cette pièce enterrée peu sujette aux variations de température, peut évidemment servir de cellier, de buanderie, de rangements, mais aussi de garage. Humide et ne bénéficiant généralement pas d’un éclairage naturel suffisant, elle ne sera pas adaptée comme pièce de vie, mais conviendra pour accueillir des activités temporaires : salle de gym, studio. Sa construction est néanmoins plus coûteuse que celle d’un garage et nécessite, selon les activités la mise en place d’une ventilation mécanique efficace.

Partager :

Facebook
Twitter
Pinterest
LinkedIn
Email
WhatsApp
Continuer la lecture

Autres articles récents