Builder of individual houses for 50 years

throughout the south-west of France

Building a modern house with swimming pool in the South West: news and trends

  • Home
  • >
  • planning
  • >
  • Building a modern house with swimming pool in the South West: news and trends
build a modern house with swimming pool

Table of contents

It's the dream of anyone building their new home in the Southwest: to afford a swimming pool to make the most of the favorable climate of the South. But it is better to know from the start of your individual house construction project which swimming pool to choose. Because there is the choice, between swimming lane, infinity pool, with transparent walls, round, heated, with a colored liner... SIC houses, builder of individual houses since 1972, provides an update on all the latest innovations and trends for your swimming pool.

 

The trend in force: a pool with a liner or a dark bottom

A real element of decoration for a swimming pool, in addition to its practical and technical side, the liner also has its own color trends. And this year, as Adena Piscines points out, liner color trends (with highlights) are at Graphite, Volcano Grey, Pearl Grey, Adriatic White and Glacier Blue.

But the strongest trend in terms of colors is surely black and dark gray. Indeed, since last year, we have seen swimming pools with very dark bottoms spring up. These liners immediately evoke great sobriety and a certain elegance. This chic black also provides very beautiful reflections in the water and even allows it to reflect all the surrounding nature, like a real mirror. 

Another small advantage: black absorbs heat more easily than blue or white and will allow you to maintain a good temperature in your bathing water for longer. 

 

The round pool: a new trend

Formerly very present on the terraces or in the gardens of architect's houses, circular, round or hexagonal swimming pools are beginning to appeal more and more to the general public (even if the rectangular shape remains the most chosen and appreciated). 

Formerly reserved for above-ground models, the circular pool (which can also be chosen in the form of a “bean”) has many advantages: 

  • It optimizes space compared to a square or rectangular pool. 
  • It is friendly, warm and perfect for family time. 
  • It is very aesthetic and easily integrates into its external environment with its soft shapes. 
  • In addition, it is easier to maintain (because it is smaller and has no corners) than a rectangular pool. 

 

Smaller but perfectly equipped swimming pools

pool deck trends

As confirmed by a recent study by Piscinelle, the trend is towards the small swimming pool, chosen more for moments of relaxation than for moments of sport. Indeed, 37% of the pools have a surface between 5 and 10 m² (often 3m x 3m). A trend that can be explained by the law, which provides for an exemption from the request for prior authorization for work and development tax for any swimming pool of less than 10 m². 

But if the surface of the pools decreases, the expenditure per household in their swimming pool remains stable. We even sometimes see an increase in the average basket of expenses for your swimming pool. For what ? Because small swimming pools are increasingly equipped : a heating system but also submerged stairs, new highly sophisticated safety systems, lighting in color or controlled by smartphones, whirlpool nozzles and also “technical” options such as the water slide or the swimming against the current. 

 

Trends towards an increasingly ecological swimming pool

build a new house with swimming pool

If the all-natural swimming pool is more and more popular, it requires a real green thumb to take care of the plants that make it live and not everyone is necessarily a fan of this solution. 

However, the swimming pool is becoming more and more eco-responsible, at different levels. To follow the trend of the ecological pool and reduce its carbon impact, you can therefore: 

  • To swim when night falls, opt for LED lights in and around your pool, which consume little energy. Lowering your electricity bill, these new energy-efficient LED lamps also have technological advantages: you can control them from your smartphone and some can change their intensity at your request. 
  • Heat pumps can also be chosen more environmentally friendly. Or you can use an isothermal blanket to reduce the energy consumption of your heating system. 
  • For water treatment, the big trend is electrolysis, which avoids chlorine odors).
  • Chlorine can even be replaced by salt or ozone treatments, products that are much less toxic to the environment. 

 

Pool trend: mobile and wooden terraces

build a modern house with swimming pool

For aesthetic, practical and ecological reasons, wood has become the material of choice for swimming pool decks and terraces. Exotic woods are then used (Massaranduba at the top of the choices), naturally rot-proof and of high density, class 4 minimum. And as far as European wood is concerned, we particularly like Pine, Chestnut, Thermo-heated Ash, Oak, Douglas, Larch and Robinia. Both warm and stylish, the wooden deck is the choice of almost half of the owners of outdoor swimming pools today.

A novelty that also pleases a lot, even if it has a rather high cost, is the mobile and sliding terrace. The latter, made of wood, slides over the pool to save space but also safety. And from a design point of view, it completely erases the pool, for a 100% magical effect. 

 

The sporty and voluptuous touch: the swim spa

With the development of small pools of less than 10 m2, swimming lanes have almost become a classic in today's pools, allowing you to switch from relaxation mode to sports mode in one touch. 

But a newcomer has emerged which combines everything in one: it is swim spa. Smaller than a swimming pool, it is very easy to install and combines many accessories for all uses: counter-current swimming jets, massage seats, exercise bars and a very efficient heating system. 

 

Luxury trends: the infinity pool or with transparent walls

trendy new house with overflow

Because true luxury has no age or expiry date, the infinity pool, like the one with transparent walls, remains the standard invitation to dream. Pool trends don't change when it comes to high quality.

The overflow onto a magnificent natural landscape (this works best with a panorama) remains the charming asset of the most beautiful swimming pools. The other elegance asset that we like to steal from the big hotels is the swimming pools with transparent walls. Allowing a subtle interplay of perspectives, these glass-walled swimming pools always have their effect at nightfall with their beautiful lights.

Share:

Facebook
Twitter
Pinterest
LinkedIn
Email
Whatsapp
Continue reading

Other recent articles

C’est le rêve de toute personne qui fait construire sa maison neuve dans le Sud-Ouest : s’offrir une piscine pour profiter au mieux du climat favorable du Sud. Mais il vaut mieux savoir dès le début de son projet de construction de maison individuelle quelle piscine choisir. Car il y a le choix, entre couloir de nage, piscine à débordement, à parois transparentes, ronde, chauffée, avec un liner de couleur… Maisons SIC, constructeur de maisons individuelles depuis 1972, fait un point sur toutes les nouveautés et tendances du moment pour votre piscine.

 

La tendance en force : une piscine avec liner ou fond sombre

Véritable élément de décoration d’une piscine, en plus de son côté pratique et technique, le liner a aussi ses propres tendances colorimétriques. Et cette année, comme le souligne Adena Piscines, les tendances de couleurs de liner (avec reflets) sont au Graphite, Gris volcan, Gris Perle, Blanc Adriatique et Bleu glacier.

Mais la plus forte tendance en termes de couleurs est surement le noir et le gris foncé. En effet, depuis l’an dernier, l’on voit fleurir des piscines aux fonds très sombres. Ces liners évoquent immédiatement une grande sobriété et une certaine élégance. Ce noir chic procure également de trés beaux reflets à l’eau et lui permet même de refléter toute la nature environnante, à l’instar d’un véritable miroir. 

Autre petit avantage : le noir absorbe plus facilement la chaleur que le bleu ou le blanc et vous permettra de conserver plus longtemps une bonne température de votre eau de baignade. 

 

La piscine ronde : une nouvelle tendance

Autrefois très présentes sur les terrasses ou dans les jardins des maisons d’architecte, les piscines circulaires, rondes ou hexagonales, commencent à plaire de plus en plus au grand public (même si la forme rectangulaire reste la plus choisie et appréciée). 

Autrefois réservée aux modèles hors sol, la piscine circulaire (qui peut aussi être choisie sous forme de “haricot”) a de nombreux avantages : 

 

Des piscine plus petites mais parfaitement équipées

terrasse en bois tendances piscine

Comme confirmé par une étude récente de Piscinelle, la tendance est à la petite piscine, plutôt choisie pour des moments détente que pour des moments de sport. En effet, 37% des bassins ont une surface comprise entre 5 et 10 m² (souvent de 3m x 3m). Une tendance qui s’explique peut-être par la loi, qui prévoit une exemption de demande d’autorisation préalable de travaux et de taxe d’aménagement pour toute piscine de moins de 10 m². 

Mais si la surface des bassins diminue, les dépenses par foyer dans leur piscine restent stables. On assiste même parfois à une augmentation du panier moyen des dépenses pour sa piscine. Pourquoi ? Parce que les petites piscines sont de plus en plus équipées : d’un système de chauffage mais aussi d’escaliers immergées, de nouveaux systèmes de sécurité très perfectionnés, d’éclairage en couleur ou commandés par smartphones, buses balnéo et aussi d’options “techniques” comme la lame d’eau ou la nage à contre-courant. 

 

Des tendances vers une piscine de plus en plus écologique

construire une maison neuve avec piscine

Si la piscine entièrement naturelle plait de plus en plus, elle demande une vraie main verte pour s’occuper des plantes qui la font vivre et tout le monde n’est pas forcément adepte de cette solution. 

Cependant, la piscine se fait de plus en plus éco-responsable, à différents niveaux. Pour suivre la tendance de la piscine écologique et diminuer son impact carbon, vous pouvez donc : 

 

Tendance Piscine : des terrasses mobiles et en bois

construire sa maison moderne avec piscine

Pour des raisons à la fois esthétiques, pratiques et écologiques, le bois est devenu le matériau de prédilection des plages et terrasses de piscines. On utilise alors des bois exotiques (le Massaranduba en tête des choix), naturellement imputrescibles et d’une densité importante, de classe 4 minimum. Et pour ce qui est du bois européen, on aime particulièrement le Pin, le Châtaignier, le Frêne thermochauffé, le Chêne, le Douglas, le Mélèze et le Robinier. A la fois chaleureuse et design, la terrasse en bois est le choix de près de la moitié des propriétaires de piscines extérieures, aujourd’hui.

Une nouveauté qui plait également beaucoup, même si elle a un coût assez élevé, c’est la terrasse mobile et coulissante. Cette dernière, en bois, se glisse sur la piscine pour un gain de place mais aussi de sécurité. Et d’un point de vue design, cela permet d’effacer totalement la piscine, pour un effet 100% magique. 

 

La touche sport et volupté : le spa de nage

Avec le développement des petites piscines de moins de 10 m2, les couloirs de nage sont presque devenus un classique des piscines d’aujourd’hui, permettant de passer du mode détente au mode sportif en une touche. 

Mais un nouveau venu a vu le jour, qui combine tout en un : c’est le spa de nage. Plus petit qu’une piscine, il est très facile à installer et combine de nombreux accessoires pour tous les usages : des jets de nage à contre-courant, des assises de massage, des barres d’exercice et un système de chauffage très efficace. 

 

Tendances luxe : la piscine à débordement ou à parois transparentes

maison neuve tendance à débordement

Parce que le vrai luxe n’a pas d’âge ni de date de péremption, la piscine à débordement, comme celle à parois transparentes, restent des standards de l’invitation au rêve. Les tendances en piscine ne changent pas quand il s’agit de haute qualité.

Le débordement sur un paysage naturel magnifique (cela fonctionne mieux avec un panorama) reste l’atout charme des plus belles piscines. L’autre atout élégance que l’on aime voler aux grands hôtels, ce sont les piscines à parois transparentes. Permettant un subtil jeu de perspectives, ces piscines à paroi vitrée font toujours leur effet à la nuit tombée avec leurs belles lumières.