Builder of individual houses for 50 years

throughout the south-west of France

Open or closed kitchen in your new home: advantages and disadvantages

  • Home
  • >
  • planning
  • >
  • Open or closed kitchen in your new home: advantages and disadvantages
open or closed kitchen in my house?

Table of contents

Choosing the layout of the kitchen of your new home is not easy. An open kitchen makes it possible to create a large warm space but there is the problem of odors. A closed kitchen provides a place where preparation doesn't get in the way of the rest of the diners but cuts off somewhat from the rest of the house. SIC houses, specialist for 50 years in the construction of new houses, tells you more… 

 

Why choose an open kitchen in your new home? 

Choose an island for the kitchen of your house

Which kitchen to choose in your new house? This is the question that any new owner who has his house built can ask himself. Open and American kitchens have been very fashionable for years (they represent more than 60% of kitchen design requests). But what are their advantages? 

 

What are the 5 advantages of an open kitchen?

  1. Friendliness
  2. The extra space
  3. The luminosity
  4. Traffic flow
  5. Design

Cooking within the family has greatly evolved over time. The task is shared within the couple, now. And cooking can be experienced as a hobby, a moment of sharing and family happiness. Opting for an open kitchen therefore allows you to cook with others, who are in the living room or dining room. An open kitchen brings more conviviality

From a practical point of view, an open kitchen allows you to create more space in your new home. Indeed, by including your kitchen in a large living room, you create a large multifunctional space to share. 

This also allows toprovide more brightness to the whole house. Indeed, a kitchen open to the living room will benefit from large openings and will therefore be able to be bathed in light. 

Movement between spaces is facilitated when you opt for an open kitchen. Indeed, there are no more doors to open or corridors to pass. The dishes are served directly at the table, without hassle. 

the open kitchen can bring a touch of design to your detached house. By opting for a central island or a modern extractor hood, you will offer, through your open kitchen, a real aesthetic asset to your large living room. 

 

How to choose the layout of your open kitchen in your detached house?

open or closed kitchen in my house?

The layout of your open kitchen is even more important than in a closed kitchen because it will be seen from the living room. Indeed, the open kitchen being an integral part of your large living room, it is essential that it be tidy and that it has, therefore, the best facilities for good maintenance and optimal storage. 

To avoid accumulating dishes on the work and cooking surfaces, arrange easy-to-use storage spaces underneath. The sink and/or the dishwasher must also be easily accessible.

You can opt for a central island with cooking spaces. Or, if you don't have the space, choose a “snack” area (a free-standing work surface with high chairs).  

Optimize the space well by devoting an entire section of wall to storage, even if it means installing kitchen furniture up to the ceiling. 

The kitchen furniture must also be in harmony with the decoration of the living/dining room. Do not hesitate to mix the decorative elements by adding similar decorative elements in both rooms, in terms of style and/or color. 

 

How to avoid odors when you have an American kitchen in your house? 

One of the most important elements of your kitchen layout is the extractor hood. Frying, grilled meats, fish, cheese, onions… By opting for an open kitchen, you take the risk of impregnating your living room/dining room with the smell of culinary preparations… which can remain! 

The best way to avoid odors in your whole house because of your open-plan kitchen (especially if you want to avoid having to open all the windows wide in winter) is to choose a extractor hood of very good quality. You can choose a exterior exhaust hood, which is very effective. It is then necessary to think from the construction plans of your new house on the place of the evacuation of this hood, in order to plan an installation as discreet as possible. Less efficient but more “designer” because without external evacuation, the recycling hood has a carbon filter (to be replaced regularly) which sucks in the air and purifies it. On the power side, the recommended minimum for a recycling hood is 400 m3/h for 10 m² and 300 m3/h for an externally vented hood.

 

The closed kitchen: a more “traditional” choice that is increasingly popular

choose a closed kitchen in your house

The trend is increasingly turning towards closed kitchens. To avoid odors, to create a real independent room (which allows you to work quietly in the living room for example), the separation between the kitchen and the other rooms of the house is more and more popular. 

But who says closed kitchen no longer says at all, today, kitchen lacking human warmth. Indeed, it is possible to create, even in a small kitchen, a space to eat with, for example, a table that folds up against the wall. While “cosy” is very trendy, a small, somewhat rustic kitchen allows you to have breakfast, for example, in a somewhat cocooning atmosphere. 

The other advantage of the closed kitchen is calm. Indeed, it is possible to cut yourself off a bit from the rest of the house, so as not to wake up the rest of the family if you have staggered hours, for example. 

If you have decorating desires that are different from the rest of the house, choosing a separate kitchen gives you an extra room to try out a new style. Being separated from the rest of the house, the closed kitchen does not necessarily need to be in harmony with the rest of the rooms and can be the subject of a completely different design, according to your tastes. 

 

The semi-open kitchen: a real solution in your home?

You do not want to choose between open kitchen and closed kitchen? Opt for the semi-open kitchen! To limit the spread of kitchen odors and grease, why not add a half partition to your open kitchen. Affixing, for example, a beautiful workshop canopy, with a sliding part to close off the space, can delimit the spaces between your kitchen and the living room, letting in as much light as possible and without partitioning everything off.

Call on our teams of professionals to build your house and improve your kitchen !

Share:

Facebook
Twitter
Pinterest
LinkedIn
Email
WhatsApp
Continue reading

Other recent articles

Constructeur de maisons individuelles depuis 50 ans

dans tout le sud-ouest de la France​​

Cuisine ouverte ou fermée dans votre maison neuve : avantages et inconvénients

cuisine ouverte ou fermée dans ma maison ?

Table des matières

Choisir l’aménagement de la cuisine de sa maison neuve n’est pas chose aisée. Une cuisine ouverte permet de créer un grand espace chaleureux mais se pose le problème des odeurs. Une cuisine fermée offre un endroit où la préparation ne gêne pas le reste des convives mais coupe quelque peu du reste de la maison. Maisons SIC, spécialiste depuis 50 ans de la construction de maisons neuves, vous en dit plus… 

 

Pourquoi choisir une cuisine ouverte dans sa maison neuve ? 

Choisir un ilot pour la cuisine de sa maison

Quelle cuisine choisir dans sa maison neuve ? C’est la question que tout nouveau propriétaire qui fait construire sa maison peut se poser. Les cuisines ouvertes et américaines sont très à la mode depuis des années (elles représentent plus de 60% des demandes d’aménagement en cuisines). Mais quels sont leurs avantages ? 

 

Quels sont les 5 avantages d’une cuisine ouverte ?

  1. La convivialité
  2. L’espace en plus
  3. La luminosité
  4. La fluidité de circulation
  5. Le design

Cuisiner au sein de sa famille a fortement évolué dans le temps. La tâche se partage au sein du couple, désormais. Et la cuisine peut être vécue comme un loisir, un moment de partage et de bonheur en famille. Opter pour une cuisine ouverte permet donc de cuisiner avec les autres, qui sont dans le salon ou la salle à manger. Une cuisine ouverte apporte ainsi plus de convivialité

D’un point de vue pratique, une cuisine ouverte permet de créer plus d’espace au sein de sa maison neuve. En effet, en incluant sa cuisine dans une grande pièce à vivre, l’on crée un grand espace multifonctionnel à partager. 

Cela permet également d’offrir plus de luminosité à la maison toute entière. En effet, une cuisine ouverte sur le salon va profiter de grandes ouvertures et va donc pouvoir être baignée de lumière. 

La circulation entre les espaces est facilitée quand on opte pour une cuisine ouverte. En effet, plus de porte à ouvrir ni de couloir à passer. Les plats sont servis directement à table, sans embûche. 

Enfin, la cuisine ouverte peut apporter une touche de design à votre maison individuelle. En optant pour un îlot central ou une hotte aspirante moderne, vous offrirez, à travers votre cuisine ouverte, un vrai atout esthétique à votre grande pièce de vie. 

 

Comment choisir l’aménagement de sa cuisine ouverte dans sa maison individuelle ?

cuisine ouverte ou fermée dans ma maison ?

L’aménagement de votre cuisine ouverte est encore plus important que dans une cuisine fermée car il va se voir depuis le salon. En effet, la cuisine ouverte étant partie intégrante de votre grande pièce à vivre, il est indispensable qu’elle soit bien rangée et qu’elle dispose, donc, des meilleurs aménagements pour un bel entretien et un rangement optimal. 

Afin d’éviter d’accumuler de la vaisselle sur les plans de travail et de cuisson, aménager des espaces de rangement faciles d’utilisation en dessous. L’évier et/ou le lave-vaisselle se doivent également d’être aisément accessibles.

Vous pouvez opter pour un îlot central avec des espaces de cuisson. Ou, si vous n’en avez pas la place, choisissez un espace “snack” (un plan de travail sur pied avec des chaises hautes).  

Optimisez bien l’espace en consacrant tout un pan de mur au rangement, quitte à poser des meubles de cuisine jusqu’au plafond. 

Le mobilier de la cuisine doit également être en harmonie avec la décoration du salon/salle à manger. N’hésitez pas à mêler les éléments de décoration en ajoutant des éléments de décoration similaires dans les deux pièces, au niveau du style et/ ou de la couleur. 

 

Comment éviter les odeurs quand on a une cuisine américaine dans sa maison ? 

Un des éléments les plus importants de l’aménagement de votre cuisine reste la hotte aspirante. Friture, viandes grillées, poissons, fromage, oignons… En optant pour une cuisine ouverte, vous prenez le risque d’imprégner votre salon/salle à manger d’odeurs de préparations culinaires… qui peuvent rester ! 

Le meilleur moyen d’éviter les odeurs dans toute votre maison à cause de votre cuisine américaine (surtout si vous voulez éviter d’avoir à ouvrir grandes toutes les fenêtres en hiver), c’est de choisir une hotte aspirante de très bonne qualité. Vous pouvez choisir une hotte à évacuation extérieure, qui est très efficace. Il faut alors penser dès les plans de construction de votre maison neuve à l’endroit de l’évacuation de cette hotte, afin de prévoir une installation la plus discrète possible. Moins efficace mais plus “design” car sans évacuation extérieure, la hotte à recyclage a un filtre à charbon (à remplacer régulièrement) qui aspire l’air et le purifie.Du côté de la puissance, le minimum recommandé pour une hotte à recyclage est de de 400 m3/h pour 10 m² et de 300 m3/h pour une hotte à évacuation extérieure.

 

La cuisine fermée : un choix plus “traditionnel” qui plait de plus en plus

choisir une cuisine fermée dans sa maison

La tendance s’inverse de plus en plus vers les cuisines fermées. Pour éviter les odeurs, permettre de créer une vraie pièce indépendante (qui permet de travailler tranquillement dans le salon par exemple), la séparation entre la cuisine et les autres pièces de la maison est de plus en plus plébiscitée. 

Mais qui dit cuisine fermée ne dit plus du tout, aujourd’hui, cuisine manquant de chaleur humaine. En effet, il est possible de créer, même dans une petite cuisine, un espace pour manger avec, par exemple, une table qui se rabat contre le mur. Alors que le “cosy” est très tendance, une petite cuisine un peu campagnarde permet de prendre son petit déjeuner, par exemple, dans une ambiance un peu cocooning. 

L’autre intérêt de la cuisine fermée est le calme. En effet, il y est possible de se couper un peu du reste de la maison, pour ne pas réveiller le reste de la famille si l’on a des horaires décalés par exemple. 

Si vous avez des envies de décoration différentes du reste de la maison, choisir une cuisine séparée vous offre une pièce en plus pour essayer un nouveau style. Étant séparée du reste de la maison, la cuisine fermée n’a pas forcément besoin d’être en harmonie avec le reste des pièces et peut être l’objet d’un tout autre design, selon ses goûts. 

 

La cuisine semi-ouverte : une vraie solution dans sa maison ?

Vous n’avez pas envie de choisir entre cuisine ouverte et cuisine fermée ? Optez pour la cuisine semi-ouverte ! Afin de limiter la propagation des odeurs et des graisses de cuisine, pourquoi ne pas ajouter une demi-cloison à votre cuisine ouverte. Apposer, par exemple, une belle verrière d’atelier, avec une partie coulissante pour fermer l’espace, peut délimiter les espaces entre votre cuisine et le salon, en faisant passer le maximum de lumière et sans pour autant cloisonner le tout.

Faites appel à nos équipes de professionnels pour construire votre maison et aménager au mieux votre cuisine !

Partager :

Facebook
Twitter
Pinterest
LinkedIn
Email
WhatsApp
Continuer la lecture

Autres articles récents