Builder of individual houses for 50 years

throughout the south-west of France

Gas, electric, wood, solar, heat pump: which heating is the most economical in a new house?

  • Home
  • >
  • Thermal Equipment
  • >
  • Gas, electric, wood, solar, heat pump: which heating is the most economical in a new house?
what heating for a new house?

Table of contents

Faced with the requirements of RE2020 to reduce CO2 emissions, choosing your heating mode is a little more complex when building your new home. But beyond the legal requirements, what is the most economical heating for your new home? Maisons SIC, homebuilder in the Southwest for 50 years, sheds light on this burning issue. 

 

Economical heating linked to RE2020 requirements

Before talking about economical heating, it is important to point out new obligations related to RE 2020, the thermal regulations put in place for all new homes since January 1, 2022. The goal, by 2031, is to lower the maximum threshold in kgCO2/m2 by more than 30% compared to the current reference level. Which lowers, in a single-family house, the maximum threshold of the construction carbon requirement from 640 from 2022 to 415 kgCO2/m2 from 2031. 

 

Et in terms of personal energy consumption, with the aim of adopting non-fossil solutions, the threshold is now set at 4 kgCO2/m2/year and effectively excludes heating systems using exclusively gas. While an average existing gas-heated house emits nearly 5 tons of CO2/year, the same house with RE2020 standards should emit less than 0,5 tons, or 10 times less. 

 

Alone exception to the rule : a transitional application provision has been introduced regarding the requirements on the energy component for individual houses for building permits already signed before 2022 and providing for the delivery of a gas service. Indeed, “to accommodate the transition planned for entry into force, building permits for single-family houses heated by gas can still be obtained until the end of 2023 when a planning permit providing for a gas supply has already been obtained. been delivered” (Government on February 18, 2021).

 

It exists many types of heating for your new RE 2020 home. But which are the most economical? 

 

Gas: uneconomical heating mode, except in the case of a condensing boiler

Traditional gas boilers are therefore now prohibited in all new house construction, due to RE 2020. It is therefore no longer possible to install a gas boiler, including a condensing gas boiler.

Indeed, if, according to the historic gas supplier Engie, "the condensing boiler is a boiler which has the capacity to recover energy from the water vapor it produces during combustion", the equipment makes it possible to limit gas consumption and achieve energy savings (25% to 30% per year) but not enough to enter the limit of 4 kgCO2/m2/year. 

 

With regard to the economic side of gas heating, prices have risen sharply and this method of heating is now considered quite expensive: 

  • Between 500 and 600 € for accommodation of 30m2
  • Between 800 and 1 € for accommodation of 000m50
  • Between €1 and €000 for a 1m300 home
  • Between €1 and €400 for a 1m600 home
  • Between €1 and €650 for a 1m900 home

(Estimates made using the comparator Hello Watt in January 2023 for the municipality of Paris (tariff zone 2).

 

If you really want to switch to gas heating in your future new home, the only solution to meet the CO emission criterion2 would be to couple your gas condensing boiler with a hybrid heat pump/boiler/heat pump.

 

Electric: heating not at all economical and prohibited in 100% electric mode

Already, since RT 2012, builders of individual houses hardly built new 100% Joule effect houses (100% electric). And the RE 2020 has finished burying all-electricity in the construction of individual houses. Indeed, electric heating remains a very expensive energy in the long term (but with a fairly low investment if “normal” radiators are chosen). These heaters are very energy intensive. With a constant increase in prices, but not as strong as for fuel oil (now totally prohibited in new houses), electricity remains the least economical heating mode, as this diagram of the Ministry of Ecological Transition: 

 

The price of electric heating per m2 is estimated between 18 and 20€/m2/year depending on the electricity supplier. If the accommodation is energy-intensive, this can go up to 33-35€/m2/year depending on the supplier chosen. 

All-electric heating is therefore no longer possible when building a new house. Electric radiators are authorized in RE 2020 in secondary rooms in addition to a wood-burning stove or a heat pump. Only the towel radiator in the bathrooms remains authorized in the two regulations. Inertia radiators, the only ones that really prove to be economical in terms of energy, are those to be preferred when choosing multiple heating sources. 

 

Heating with wood: the most economical choice

Wood stove, pellet stove, biomass boiler… Wood remains the best choice if you want to install an economical heating method in your new individual house. Already in 2016, Ademe (the environment and energy management agency) estimated the average French heating bill at €1. And wood was already the least expensive fuel, with a heating bill of €661/year, compared to €811 for gas. With the increase in gas and electricity prices, wood is all the more economical as a means of heating. Several solutions are then possible: 

  • The wood stove : with logs or pellets. In the first case, there is the problem of log storage space and the yield is around 1%. Pellets are a little cheaper than logs but above all, they take up less space and the efficiency of a pellet stove is around 70%. The cost runs on average between 85 and 2500€.
  • The biomass boiler has a higher installation cost (around €18) but in the long term, it remains one of the most economical solutions since the heat produced after combustion heats the central heating circuit (including the entirety of your new house) and can even produce domestic hot water (DHW).

For these two very economical heating solutions, the average annual cost of use is around €800-€1000. 

 

The Air-Air or Air-Water heat pump: more than 60% heating savings

economical heat pump heating

We have already told you about 11 reasons to choose a heat pump to heat your new home. Among them: non-binding maintenance, a low-noise solution, the possibility of controlling your heat pump remotely, using it to heat water and making it your central heating. 

The Pac air/air is one of the least expensive solutions in new construction. The investment is quite significant, between €6 and €000. But the cost of heating per year is then around 10 euros. 

The Pac Air/Eau is accompanied by the installation of a whole network of hot water, radiators or heated floors, so it is more expensive, around 20 euros. But the comfort of life and future energy savings, as well as the many aids that you can obtain, allow a large number of future owners to choose this solution.  

 

Solar: an economical mode of heating… in the long term

economical solar heating?

It is quite possible to reduce your energy bill with solar energy. By using an electric back-up, the price of 1 kWh of heat with solar energy can be around 8 euro cents. The savings made then represent between 10% and 50%. 

The installation of a solar heating system initially represents a significant investment, between 5 and 500 €. But there are very many state aid to finance the purchase and installation of your thermal solar panels

Would you like advice on the heating to be installed in your future new home? Contact the single-family home construction professionals at Maisons SIC.

Share:

Facebook
Twitter
Pinterest
LinkedIn
Email
WhatsApp
Continue reading

Other recent articles

Constructeur de maisons individuelles depuis 50 ans

dans tout le sud-ouest de la France​​

Gaz, électrique, bois, solaire, pompe à chaleur : quel chauffage est le plus économique en maison neuve ?

Accueil » Blog » Aménagement » Equipement Thermique » Gaz, électrique, bois, solaire, pompe à chaleur : quel chauffage est le plus économique en maison neuve ?
quel chauffage pour une maison neuve ?

Table des matières

Face aux exigences de la RE2020 de réduction des émissions de CO2, choisir son mode chauffage est un peu plus complexe lors de la construction de sa maison neuve. Mais au-delà des nécessités légales, quel est le chauffage le plus économique pour sa maison neuve ? Maisons SIC, constructeur de maisons dans le Sud-Ouest depuis 50 ans, vous éclaire sur cette question brûlante. 

 

Un chauffage économique et lié aux exigences RE2020

Avant de parler de chauffage économique, il est important de souligner les nouvelles obligations liées à la RE 2020, la réglementation thermique mise en place pour toutes les maisons neuves depuis le 1er janvier 2022. Le but, à horizon 2031, est d’abaisser le seuil maximal en kgCO2/ m2 de plus de 30 % par rapport au niveau de référence actuel. Ce qui abaisse, en maison individuelle, le seuil maximal de l’exigence carbone de construction de 640 à partir de 2022 à 415 kgCO2/m2 à partir de 2031. 

 

Et pour ce qui est de la consommation personnelle d’énergie, dans un but d’adoption de solutions non fossiles, le seuil est désormais fixé à 4 kgCO2/m2/an et exclut de fait les systèmes de chauffage utilisant exclusivement du gaz. Alors qu’une maison moyenne existante chauffée au gaz émet près de 5 tonnes de CO2/an, la même maison aux normes RE2020 devrait émettre moins de 0,5 tonne, soit 10 fois moins. 

 

Seule exception à la règle : une disposition d’application transitoire a été introduite quant aux exigences sur le volet énergie pour les maisons individuelles pour des permis de construire déjà signé avant 2022 et prévoyant de délivrer une desserte en gaz. En effet, “pour ménager la transition prévue à l’entrée en vigueur, des permis de construire pour des maisons individuelles chauffées au gaz pourront encore être obtenus jusqu’à fin 2023 lorsqu’un permis d’aménager prévoyant une desserte en gaz a déjà été délivré” (Gouvernement le 18 février 2021).

 

Il existe de nombreux types de chauffage pour votre maison neuve RE 2020. Mais lesquels sont les plus économiques ? 

 

Le gaz : mode de chauffage peu économique, sauf en cas de chaudière à condensation

Les chaudières traditionnelles au gaz sont donc désormais interdites dans toutes construction de maison neuve, du fait de la RE 2020. Il n’est ainsi plus du tout possible d’installer une chaudière à gaz,, y compris une chaudière gaz à condensation.

En effet, si, selon le fournisseur historique de gaz Engie, “la chaudière à condensation est une chaudière qui a la capacité de récupérer de l’énergie dans la vapeur d’eau qu’elle produit lors de la combustion”, l’équipement permet de limiter sa consommation de gaz et de réaliser des économies d’énergie (25% à 30% par an) mais pas assez pour entrer dans la limite des 4 kgCO2/m2/an. 

 

En ce qui concerne le côté économique du chauffage au gaz, les prix ont fortement augmenté et ce mode de chauffage est aujourd’hui considéré comme assez cher : 

  • Entre 500 et 600 € pour un logement de 30m2
  • Entre 800 et 1 000 € pour un logement de 50m2
  • Entre 1 000 et 1 300 € pour un logement de 70m2
  • Entre 1 400 et 1 600 € pour un logement de 100m2
  • Entre 1 650 et 1 900 € pour un logement de 120m2

(Estimations réalisées à l’aide du comparateur Hello Watt en janvier 2023 pour la commune de Paris (zone tarifaire 2).

 

Si vous souhaitez vraiment passer par un chauffage au gaz dans votre future maison neuve, la seule solution pour respecter le critère d’émission de CO2 serait de coupler votre chaudière gaz à condensation avec une pompe à chaleur / Chaudière/PAC hybride.

 

L’électrique : chauffage pas du tout économique et interdit en mode 100% électrique

Déjà, depuis la RT 2012, les constructeurs de maisons individuelles ne construisaient presque plus de maisons neuves 100% effet Joule (100% électrique). Et la RE 2020 a fini d’enterrer le tout électrique dans les constructions de maisons individuelles. En effet, le chauffage électrique reste une énergie très chère sur le long terme (mais avec un investissement assez faible si l’on choisit des radiateurs “normaux”). Ces chauffages sont très énergivores. Avec une augmentation des prix constante mais pas aussi forte que pour le fioul (totalement interdit désormais dans les maisons neuves), l’électricité reste le mode chauffage le moins économique, comme le démontre ce schéma du Ministère de la Transition Écologique : 

 

Le prix du chauffage électrique par m2 est estimé entre 18 et 20€/m2/an en fonction du fournisseur électricité. Si le logement est énergivore, cela peut aller jusqu’à 33-35€/m2/an en fonction du fournisseur choisi. 

Chauffer au tout électrique n’est donc plus possible dans le cadre d’une construction de maison neuve. Les radiateurs électriques sont autorisés dans la RE 2020 dans les pièces secondaires en complément d’un poêle à bois ou d’une pompe à chaleur. Seul le radiateur sèche-serviettes dans les salles de bains reste autorisé dans les deux réglementations. Les radiateurs à inertie, seuls à vraiment s’avérer économiques en termes d’énergie, sont ceux à privilégier dans le cadre d’un choix de multiples sources de chauffage. 

 

Le chauffage au bois : le choix le plus économique

Poêle à bois, poêle à granulés, chaudière biomasse… Le bois reste le meilleur choix si l’on souhaite installer un mode de chauffage économique dans sa maison neuve individuelle. Déjà en 2016, L’Ademe (L’agence de l’environnement et de la maîtrise de l’énergie) estimait la facture moyenne du chauffage des Français à 1 661€.  Et le bois était déjà  le combustible le moins onéreux, avec une facture de chauffage de 811€ / an, contre 1 415€ pour le gaz. Avec l’augmentation des prix du gaz et de l’électricité, le bois est d’autant plus économique comme moyen de chauffage. Plusieurs solutions sont alors possibles : 

  • Le poêle à bois : avec des bûches ou des granulés. Dans le 1er cas se pose le problème de l’espace de stockage des bûches et le rendement tourne autour de 70%. Les granulés sont un peu moins chers que les bûches mais surtout, ils prennent moins de place et le rendement d’un poêle à granulés tourne autour de 85%. Le coût tourne en moyenne entre 2500 et 6000€.
  • La chaudière biomasse a un cout d’installation plus élevé (autour de 18 000€) mais à long terme, cela reste une des solutions les plus économiques puisque la chaleur produite après combustion chauffe le circuit de chauffage central (dont l”intégralité e votre maison neuve) et peut même produire de l’eau chaude sanitaire (ECS).

Pour ces deux solutions de chauffage très économiques, le coût moyen annuel d’utilisation  est autour de 800 €-1000€. 

 

La pompe à chaleur Air-Air ou Air-Eau : plus de 60% d’économies de chauffage

chauffage économique pompe à chaleur

Nous vous avons déjà parlé des 11 raisons de choisir une pompe à chaleur pour chauffer sa maison neuve. Parmi elles : un entretien non contraignant, une solution peu bruyante, la possibilité de piloter sa pompe à chaleur à distance, de l’utiliser pour chauffer l’eau et d’en faire son chauffage central. 

La Pac air/air fait partie des solutions les moins coûteuses en construction neuve. L’investissement est assez important, entre 6 000 et 10 000 €. Mais le coût de chauffage par an est alors autour de 900 euros. 

La Pac Air/Eau s’accompagne de l’installation de tout un réseau d’eau chaude,  de radiateurs ou de planchers chauffants, donc elle est plus onéreuse, autour de 20 000 euros. Mais le confort de vie et les économies d’énergie à venir, ainsi que les nombreuses aides que vous pouvez obtenir, permettent à un grand nombre de futurs propriétaires de choisir cette solution.  

 

Le solaire : un mode de chauffage économique… à long terme

chauffage solaire économique ?

Il est tout à fait possible de réduire sa facture d’énergie grâce à l’énergie solaire. En utilisant un appoint électrique, le prix de 1 kWh de chaleur avec l’énergie solaire peut revenir aux alentours de 8 centimes d’euros. Les économies réalisées représentent alors entre 10% et 50 %. 

L’installation d’un système de chauffage solaire représente, au départ, un investissement important, entre 5 500 et 22 000 €. Mais il existe de très nombreuses aides de l’État pour financer l’achat et l’installation de vos panneaux solaires thermiques

Vous souhaitez obtenir des conseils sur le chauffage à installer dans votre future maison neuve ? Contactez les professionnels de la construction de maisons individuelles de Maisons SIC.

Partager :

Facebook
Twitter
Pinterest
LinkedIn
Email
WhatsApp
Continuer la lecture

Autres articles récents