Builder of individual houses for 50 years

throughout the south-west of France

5 reasons to choose to build a house in Cahors

Table of contents

Capital of the Lot Valley, Cahors is a dream place to build a house and enjoy the sweetness of life in Occitania. Very close to major cities such as Toulouse, Montauban or Albi, Cahors is located in a territory of rare wealth. Wealth of heritage, gastronomic wealth, wealth also of sites among the most beautiful in France. Building a house in Cahors, on economically and culturally dynamic land, remains an excellent investment. SIC houses gives you 5 reasons (among many others) to choose Cahors for your future home. 

 

Build a house in Cahors, 1 hour from Montauban, 1h30 from Toulouse and Albi

In the heart of Occitania, Cahors benefits from excellent road connections, thanks in particular to the A20 motorway. If, on the railway plan, the city deserves to be better served, it has no "train" behind at the digital level because it already benefits from fiber. 

 

Build your house 60 km from Montauban 

Closest to Cahors is the town of Montauban, only 60 km. The so-called “little pink town” has (almost) nothing to envy to the big one. It is indeed both an agro-food center but also a center for electronics, industrial mechanics and a very dynamic city, on a human scale. 

 

The construction of a house near Toulouse and Albi

It is therefore very easy to telecommute in Cahors and to stay in constant contact with the major cities around. Indeed, Cahors is only a hundred kilometers fromAlbi and Toulouse. We talked to you in this article about the advantages of building a house in Albi of all the interest of this big city, between nature, sea and mountains, which offers a secure, reassuring and dynamic environment for studies. Building your house around the Toulouse region also means taking advantage of all the beneficial aura of the city of Toulouse. The capital of the Occitanie region, also the capital of the Haute-Garonne department, combines remarkable architectural heritage, academic excellence, the presence of large cutting-edge companies and a real sporting dynamism...   

 

Directly linked to these 3 cities, Cahors thus makes it possible to benefit from a rich economic, cultural and student life and to be close to a major airport and major train lines. 

 

Cahors, a medium-sized town with a historic, green and peaceful living environment

The main asset of the city of Cahors is certainly its strong and perfectly preserved historical past, which gives it that little bit of soul that leaves no one indifferent. It is, among other things, for this undeniable charm that the 2021 ranking of Towns and Villages where life is good ranked Cahors 1st city in its department and 18th city (where life is good in France) among the municipalities of 10 – 000 inhabitants in France. 

Valentré bridge, hidden medieval gardens, Saint-Etienne Cathedral…: the historical heritage of Cahors

Simply take a stroll on the banks of the Lot or in the center of Cahors to feel all the history of France that is still present there. 22 secret medieval gardens, hidden throughout the city, bring subtle touches of greenery and magic to the city. The narrow streets themselves seem to speak to us of the past and Cahors remains the southern town with the largest number of medieval houses. the majestic Saint-Etienne cathedral, visible for miles, is breathtaking. And cross the Lot by the Valentré Bridge remains a unique experience. These last two monuments are classified as World Heritage by UNESCO under the Ways of Saint James. 

The Lot and its Valley, all around Cahors

Cahors is a city that really breathes, even when the summer heats up. Maybe because it is surrounded by the river and the hills. It is also advisable to go on foot (for the bravest) to climb the 800 meters of altitude of Mont Saint Cyr to admire the whole city as a whole. From this unique vantage point, it is easy to realize the importance of nature in and around Cahors. 

Building a house in Cahors is therefore the guarantee of enjoying a green setting all year round and breathing deeply.

 

A house in Cahors, to enjoy the Lot Valley and the most beautiful villages in France

It is often following a crush on vacation in the Lot that we decide to come and settle in Cahors. The region has many attractions and its landscapes are breathtaking, like the beauty of its world-famous villages. 

 

Saint-Cirq-Lapopie, Rocamadour and Puy-L'Evêque: the most beautiful villages around Cahors

Favorite village of the French, also classified among the Most Beautiful Villages of France, the medieval village of Saint-Cirq-Lapopie allows you to travel through time. Strolling through the alleys of this village perched 100m above the river on a rocky peak, you will once again feel the significance of the region's historical heritage. 

60 km from Cahors, Rocamadour is a majestic site, all in verticality. A major step on the way to Santiago de Compostela, Grand Site of Occitanie and listed as a UNESCO World Heritage Site, the religious city of Rocamadour is a place that can be discovered several times as the maze of its streets reveals little hidden treasures. 

A little less known but just as steep, the village of Puy-L'Eveque dominates the Lot river and allows you to enjoy magnificent panoramas. Just like Cahors or Saint-Cirq-Lapopie, Puy-L'Evêque offers, in its alleys, very beautiful historical discoveries. 

Building a house in Cahors and having access to such beautiful villages in a few minutes remains an unequaled pleasure. 

 

The enchanting landscapes of Quercy Blanc, the prehistoric cave of Pech-Merle, the phosphate mines of Cloup d'Aural...

Many natural sites around Cahors add to its natural charm. White stone, sunflowers and lavender, the Quercy Blanc offers to see magnificent Romanesque churches, fortified towns and medieval villages. 

The Cloup d'Aural phosphate pits take you down into an open pit where the almost tropical landscapes that surround you tell you about the vagaries of the climate over more than 30 million years. 

There are many caves to visit around Cahors, but that of Pech Merle is one of the most exciting. Its walls are covered with prehistoric paintings and engravings over 20 years old of more than 000 animals.

 

Choose the friendliness and warmth of a house in Cahors for its unparalleled heritage and gastronomy

It's no secret: in the Lot valley, we eat wonderfully well! It is the paradise of local, seasonal products, as fresh as they are good. Here, you can find Lalbenque truffles but also duck in all its forms (confit, foie gras or duck breast). You can spread Rocamadour cheese on Croustilot (local bread). Or cook with saffron, melon, walnuts and Quercy lamb. There is no shortage of delicious Quercy recipes, such as pastis (a crispy, slightly alcoholic apple cake), mique (a kind of stew with a leavened dough made from eggs and duck fat), and the famous Quercy salad. without forgetting, for amateurs, the famous Cahors wine and its Malbec grape variety. 

All these wonderful products, you will find them in any season (and at very reasonable prices) on the colorful markets of the Lot Valley. And it's in Cahors and Prayssac that you can enjoy the most beautiful markets in Midi-Pyrénées, 

 

Call on a house builder in Cahors, to take advantage of a major economic center

Cahors is at the heart of a department which has a diversified agricultural activity, although dominated by viticulture. The tourism sector is also very important, economically speaking. But Cahors and its region are not dependent on these two areas of activity, far from it. As explained by the city factory : “Cahors concentrates 24% of the department's population and has developed a strong profile as an administrative and service town. The structure of employment is thus dominated by the face-to-face sphere (77% of employment in Grand Cahors) and by public employment (public administration, education, health and social action) ..

Thus, Cahors has a higher level of equipment and infrastructure (hospital, theatre, cinema, etc.) and a great vitality of its commercial fabric in the city centre.

 

Call on a confirmed house builder like SIC houses for your project around Cahors!

Some examples of our house offers in the Lot: https://sic-habitat.com/vente/?_departements=departement-lot

Share:

Facebook
Twitter
Pinterest
LinkedIn
Email
WhatsApp
Continue reading

Other recent articles

Constructeur de maisons individuelles depuis près de 50 ans

dans tout le sud-ouest de la France​​

5 raisons d’opter pour la construction d’une maison à Cahors

Table des matières

Capitale de la Vallée du Lot, Cahors est un endroit rêvé pour y faire construire sa maison et profiter de la douceur de vivre de l’Occitanie. Tout proche des grandes métropoles comme Toulouse, Montauban ou Albi, Cahors est implanté dans un territoire d’une rare richesse. Richesse patrimoniale, richesse gastronomique, richesse également de sites parmi les plus beaux de France. Construire sa maison à Cahors, sur des terres économiquement et culturellement dynamiques, reste un excellent investissement. Maisons SIC vous donne 5 raisons (parmi tant d’autres) de choisir Cahors pour votre future maison. 

 

Construire une maison à Cahors, à 1h de Montauban, 1h30 de Toulouse et d’Albi

En plein coeur de l’Occitanie, Cahors bénéficie d’excellentes dessertes routières, grâce en particulier à l’autoroute A20. Si, sur le plan ferroviaire, la ville mériterait d’être mieux desservie, elle n’a aucun “train” de retard au niveau numérique car elle bénéficie déjà de la fibre. 

 

Construire sa maison à 60 km de Montauban 

Au plus proche de Cahors se trouve la ville de Montauban, à seulement 60 km. Celle qu’on appelle “la petite ville rose” n’a (presque) rien à envier à la grande. C’est en effet à la fois un pôle agro-alimentaire mas aussi un pôle de l’électronique, de la mécanique industrielle et une ville des plus dynamiques, à taille humaine. 

 

La construction d’une maison proche de Toulouse et d’Albi

Il est donc très facile de télé-travailler à Cahors et de rester en contact permanent avec les grandes villes alentour. En effet, Cahors n’est à une centaine de kilomètres d’Albi et de Toulouse. Nous vous parlions dans cet article sur les avantages d’une construction de maison à Albi de tout l’intérêt de cette grande ville, entre nature, mer et montagne, qui offre un environnement sécurisé, rassurant et dynamique pour les études. Construire sa maison autour de la région toulousaine signifie également profiter de toute l’aura bénéfique de la ville de Toulouse. La capitale de la région Occitanie, également chef-lieu du département de la Haute-Garonne, conjugue patrimoine architectural remarquable, excellence universitaire, présence de grandes entreprises de pointe et un véritable dynamisme sportif…   

 

En lien direct avec ces 3 villes, Cahors permet ainsi de bénéficier d’une vie économique, culturelle, estudiantine riche et de se trouver proche d’un grand aéroport et de grandes lignes de train. 

 

Cahors, une ville moyenne au cadre de vie historique, verdoyant et apaisant

Le premier des atouts de la ville de Cahors est certainement son passé historique fort et parfaitement conservé, qui lui donne ce petit supplément d’âme qui ne laisse personne indifférent. C’est, entre autres, pour ce charme indéniable que le classement 2021 des Villes et Villages où il fait bon vivre a classé Cahors 1ère ville de son département et 18ème ville (où il fait bon vivre en France)  parmi les communes de 10 000 – 20 000 habitants en France. 

Pont Valentré, jardins cachés médiévaux, Cathédrale saint-Etienne… : le patrimoine historique de Cahors

Il suffit de se balader tout simplement sur les rives du Lot ou au sein du centre-ville de Cahors pour ressentir toute l’histoire de France qui y est encore présente. 22 jardins médiévaux secrets, cachés dans toute la ville, viennent apporter de subtiles touches de verdure et de magie à la ville. Les ruelles étroites elles-mêmes semblent nous parler du passé et Cahors reste la ville du midi possédant le plus grand nombre de maisons médiévales. La majestueuse cathédrale Saint-Etienne, visible depuis des kilomètres, est à couper le souffle. Et traverser le Lot par le Pont Valentré reste une expérience unique. Ces deux derniers monuments sont classés au patrimoine mondial de l’UNESCO au titre des Chemins de Saint-Jacques. 

Le Lot et sa Vallée, tout autour de Cahors

Cahors est une ville qui respire vraiment, même quand l’été fait monter les températures. Peut-être parce-qu’elle est encerclée par la rivière et les collines. L’on conseille d’ailleurs de partir à pied (pour les plus courageux) gravir les 800 mètres d’altitude du Mont saint Cyr pour admirer toute la ville dans son ensemble. Depuis ce pont de vue unique, il est facile de se rendre compte de l’importance de la nature dans et autour de Cahors. 

Construire une maison à Cahors, c’est donc l’assurance de profiter d’un cadre verdoyant toute l’année et de respirer à plein poumon.

 

Une maison à Cahors, pour profiter de la Vallée du Lot et des plus beaux villages de France

C’est souvent suite à un coup de coeur en vacances dans le Lot que l’on décide de venir s’installer à Cahors. La région a de très nombreux attraits et ses paysages sont à couper le souffle, comme la beauté de ses villages, mondialement connus. 

 

Saint-Cirq-Lapopie, Rocamadour et Puy-L’Evêque : les plus beaux villages autour de Cahors

Village préféré des Français, classé aussi parmi les Plus Beaux Villages de France, le village médiéval de Saint-Cirq-Lapopie permet de s’offrir un voyage dans le temps. En vous baladant dans les ruelles de ce ce village perché à 100m au-dessus de la rivière sur un piton rocheux, vous ressentirez, une nouvelle fois, toute la prégnance du patrimoine historique de la région. 

À 60 km de Cahors, Rocamadour est un site majestueux, tout en verticalité. Étape majeure sur le chemin de Saint-Jacques-de-Compostelle, Grand Site d’Occitanie et inscrite au patrimoine mondial de l’UNESCO, la cité religieuse de Rocamadour est un lieu qui se découvre en plusieurs fois tant le dédale de ses rues décèlent de petits trésors cachés. 

Un peu moins connu mais tout aussi escarpé, le village de Puy-L’évêque domine la rivière du Lot et permet de profiter de magnifiques panoramas. Tout comme Cahors ou Saint-Cirq-Lapopie, Puy-L’Evêque offre, dans ses ruelles, de très belles découvertes historiques. 

Construire sa maison à Cahors et avoir accès à d’aussi beaux villages en quelques minutes reste un plaisir inégalé. 

 

Les paysages enchanteurs du Quercy Blanc, la Grotte préhistorique du Pech-Merle, les phosphatières du Cloup d’Aural…

De nombreux sites naturels autour de Cahors apportent encore à son charme naturel. Pierre blanche, tournesols et lavande, le Quercy Blanc offre à voir de magnifiques églises romanes, bastide et bourgs médiévaux. 

Les phosphatières du Cloup d’Aural vous font descendre dans un gouffre à ciel ouvert où les paysages presque tropicaux qui vous entourent vous racontent les aléas du climat sur plus de 30 millions d’années. 

Les grottes à visiter sont nombreuses autour de Cahors mais celle de Pech-Merle est l’une des plus passionnantes. Ses parois sont recouvertes de peintures et de gravures préhistoriques de plus de 20 000 ans de plus de 70 animaux.

 

Choisir la convivialité et la chaleur d’une maison à Cahors pour son patrimoine et sa gastronomie hors pair

Ce n’est un secret pour personne : dans la vallée du Lot, on mange merveilleusement bien ! C’est le paradis des produits locaux, de saison, aussi frais que bons. Ici, on trouve de la truffe de Lalbenque mais aussi du canard sous toutes ses formes (en confit, foie gras ou en magret). Vous pourrez étaler du fromage Rocamadour sur du Croustilot (pain local). Ou faire la cuisine avec du safran, du melon, de la noix et de l’agneau du Quercy. Les délicieuses recettes quercynoises ne manquent pas,  comme le pastis (un gâteau croustillant, légèrement alcoolisé, aux pommes), la mique (sorte de pot-au-feu avec une pâte levée à base d’œufs et de graisse de canard), et la fameuse salade Quercynoise. sans oublier, pour les amateurs, le fameux vin de Cahors et son cépage de Malbec. 

Tous ces merveilleux produits, vous les trouverez en toute saison (et à des prix trés raisonnables) sur les marchés colorés de la Vallée du Lot. Et c’est à Cahors et à Prayssac que vous pourrez profiter des plus beaux marchés de Midi-Pyrénées, 

 

Faire appel à un constructeur de maison à Cahors, pour profiter d’un pôle économique majeur

Cahors est au coeur d’un département qui compte une activité agricole diversifiée, bien que dominée par la viticulture. Le secteur du tourisme y est également très important, économiquement parlant. Mais Cahors et sa région ne sont pas dépendant de ces deux domaines d’activités, loin de là. Comme expliqué par la fabrique de la Cité : “ Cahors concentre 24% de la population départementale et a développé un profil fort de ville administrative et de services. La structure de l’emploi est ainsi dominée par la sphère présentielle (77% de l’emploi du Grand Cahors) et par l’emploi public (administration publique, enseignement, santé et action sociale) ..”

Ainsi, Cahors présente un taux d’équipements et d’infrastructures de niveau supérieur (centre hospitalier, théâtre, cinéma etc.) et une belle vitalité de son tissu commercial en centre-ville.

 

Faites appel à un constructeur de maisons confirmé comme maisons SIC pour votre projet autour de Cahors !

Quelques exemples de nos offres de maisons dans le Lot : https://sic-habitat.com/vente/?_departements=departement-lot

Partager :

Partager sur facebook
Facebook
Partager sur twitter
Twitter
Partager sur pinterest
Pinterest
Partager sur linkedin
LinkedIn
Partager sur email
Email
Partager sur whatsapp
WhatsApp
Continuer la lecture

Autres articles récents

Laissez nous vos coordonnées pour avoir plus d’informations… Ou cliquez sur les images au dessus.