Builder of individual houses for 50 years

throughout the south-west of France

How to choose the orientation of the house on the land?

The orientation of the house is studied from the model.

Table of contents

The orientation of the house is the key to comfort. The contributions of natural light, like the temperature are directly linked to the way in which the sun penetrates inside the habitat. To choose theideal orientation, your builder study your the land, its environment, the house model desired, the climate and adapts everything to the path of the sun according to the seasons and times of the day.

What is the orientation of the ideal house?

The ideal home orientation is one that allows all sides of the house to be exposed to the sun for part of the day. For your greatest comfort, a good builder will thus seek to place each room of the house in depending on its orientation but also your lifestyle habits. Rooms East orientation thus benefit from a gentle radiance in the morning. THE rooms in the West are bathed in sunlight from mid-afternoon until evening, which creates glare and overheating. A South facing room enjoy the sun all day.

To go further, read our article » Southwest house plan: How to design the ideal plan?  »

Guidance and RE2020

Today, the regulations governing construction in France are environmental regulations 2020 say RE2020 which encourages sobriety and energy efficiency. THE new houses built today are thus bioclimatic houses. The architectural design,implementation on the ground and l'orientation of the house should therefore make it possible to reduce heating, cooling and lighting needs as much as possible.

Well-being and morning sun healthy new house.
An east-facing bedroom lets in the sun in the early hours of the day.

A healthy home is well oriented

The sun's rays cleanse the houses. Indeed, a building that is constantly in the shade due to vegetation or the presence of a nearby building can have higher levels of spores and mold. In the same way, the orientation affects the ambient humidity and therefore the development of mites. L'orientation of the house and the good window sizing will therefore be important to preserve the health of residents and in particular avoid encouraging allergies.

To find out more on this subject, read our article » Building a healthy house in the South West  »

Orient the house for more natural light

A well-designed house allows you to do without artificial lighting as much as possible. Of large windows et Windows, well positioned, this is the key to visual comfort at any time of the day and in any season. There RE2020 environmental regulations thus imposes a level of lighting but also a minimum bay window area (1/3 of the facade surface) in a dwelling. Beyond energy savings, the effects are felt on the well-being of the occupants who will have less eye fatigue and more ease in respecting their biological rhythm.

To find out more read our article “  Optimizing the brightness of your new home: construction tips " page (in French).

A house that promotes solar gain

Winter is relatively mild in the South West. In Gironde, in the Lot and Garonne. as Haute-Garonne or in Pyrenees, houses benefit from the sun's rays for as long as possible. It is thus the greatest ally of residents who wish reduce energy consumption linked to house heating. Large, well-positioned windows capture all the solar gains. The good design of the house and its very strong insulation do the rest by retaining these free calories for as long as possible. The inhabitants of new houses are even surprised today to no longer have to turn on the heating in the middle of winter. What a saving!

To better understand how to take advantage of even the slightest ray of sunshine, read the article » Reduce the bill with solar energy in the South West " page (in French).

Sun protection for summer comfort

While we constantly talk about global warming and our regions of the South West are subject to summer heatwaves,orientation of the house must also take into account summer comfort. During the summer months, on the contrary, you must protect yourself from the sun's rays as much as possible in order to limit the use of air conditioners. The role of the manufacturer is then to reconcile what seems irreconcilable. In summer we focus on sun protection. The sun being lower in winter and the tree leaves having fallen, vegetation and roof overhangs provide shade in summer but not in winter. You can also add shutters, blinds and other sunshades that will screen the sun's rays. The solutions domotics which manage the opening and closing of the shutters according to the path of the sun offering unrivaled comfort.

At Maisons Sic, the choice of shutters is also a crucial choice. To better understand the importance of this equipment, read our article » Which shutters in a new house?  »

new wooden house well oriented
In this South facing house à Audenge, On the Arcachon bay, roof overhangs preserve light but prevent the sun's rays from penetrating inside the building in summer, but not in winter.

What solutions for a well-oriented house?

When the choice is allowed, we favor theSouth orientation. Beyond means that the living rooms such as the living room or the bedrooms are placed against the South facade.
We generally avoid placing rooms to the North. Less comfortable, solar input is ten times less than in the South. In this way, we avoid too small windows which deprive natural lighting.
Un West facing living room is also not recommended, especially in hot regions such as South West of France. As the sun sets in the West, it is difficult to protect the bays from this intense radiation and the heat it causes in the house in summer. The shutters on this facade must therefore be able to be closed in the evening.

Properly size and place windows

The amount of light and sunlight a house receives depends on the openings. A high position of the glazing allows lighting at the back of the room. Likewise roof windows provide quality overhead lighting and offer, for the same surface area, three times more natural light than facade openings. However, it is preferable to place them on a North facing roof section or East to prevent overheating.

What to do with North-facing rooms?

Rooms in the North do not benefit from direct sunlight. Due to the greater development of mites in this type of environment, it is not recommended to create night rooms there. On the other hand, the amount of natural light is constant and is therefore well suited to reading, detailed work, creating a workshop or working on the computer. You can also place rooms there such as toilets, utility room, garage, boiler room...

A South orientation for the living room?

A South orientation for the living room is a good option. Because this central room benefits from maximum heat and natural light. In summer, the architectural design of the house will offer a room open to the outside but protected from summer overheating. The ideal being a through room with large bay windows also to the North which let in daylight in summer when the South facades are obscured.

Orient a house in an L or U shape

The recesses of these houses provide a little shade to certain facades. Thus, the return of an L-shaped house can protect the South facade late rays of the sun coming from the West. A good way to reserve some shady spots during the hottest hours.

To go further, consult the article “  the 6 advantages of an L-shaped house " page (in French).

Protect yourself from noise

Noise exposure : Avoid placing rooms such as bedrooms on the side of the street or a significant source of noise.
Terrace Area and garden: If you like spending time outside, considerorientation of your terraces or your garden to enjoy the sun and shade at the right time of day.
Orient the house depending on the wind: Avoid orienting bedroom windows towards prevailing cold winds or strong winds.

The builder specializing in the orientation of the house

Ultimately, the choice ofideal orientation of your home should be guided by architectural and construction professionals. Your home builder Sic houses carries out specific studies to locate the house on the land and design it according to your desires, your needs and the environment.

In conclusion, choose theorientation of the house is a crucial decision when you want to to build. This choice impacts comfort, energy efficiency and quality of life inside the home. Take the time to think about the place of each of your living rooms to ensure that the house is always comfortable and always meets your needs.

 

 

Share:

Facebook
Twitter
Pinterest
LinkedIn
Email
Whatsapp
Continue reading

Other recent articles

Constructeur de maisons individuelles depuis 50 ans

dans tout le sud-ouest de la France​​

Comment choisir l’orientation de la maison sur le terrain ?

L'orientation de la maison s'étudie dès la maquette.

Table des matières

L’orientation de la maison est la clé du confort. Les apports de lumière naturelle, comme la température sont directement liée à la façon dont le soleil pénètre à l’intérieur de l’habitat. Pour choisir l’orientation idéale, votre constructeur étudie votre terrain, son environnement, le modèle de maison souhaité, le climat et adapte l’ensemble à la course du soleil selon les saisons et les heures de la journée.

Quelle est l’orientation de la maison idéale ?

L’orientation de la maison idéale est celle qui permet à toutes les faces de la maison d’être exposées au soleil pendant une partie de la journée. Pour votre plus grand confort, un bon constructeur cherchera ainsi à placer chaque pièce de la maison en fonction de son orientation mais aussi de vos habitudes de vie. Les pièces orientation Est bénéficient ainsi d’un rayonnement doux le matin. Les pièces à l’Ouest sont baignées de soleil du milieu de l’après midi jusqu’au soir, ce qui crée éblouissement et surchauffe. Une pièce orientée Sud profite du soleil toute la journée.

Pour aller plus loin, lire notre article ” Plan de maison du Sud-Ouest : Comment concevoir le plan idéal ?

Orientation et RE2020

Aujourd’hui, la règlementation qui régit la construction en France est la réglementation environnementale 2020 dites RE2020 qui encourage la sobriété et l’efficacité énergétique. Les maisons neuves construites aujourd’hui sont ainsi des maisons bioclimatiques. La conception architecturale, l’implantation sur le terrain et l’orientation de la maison doivent ainsi permettre de réduire au maximum les besoins de chauffage, de froid et d’éclairage.

Bien être et soleil du matin maison neuve saine.
Une chambre orientée à l’Est laisse entrer le soleil aux premières heures de la journée.

Une maison saine est bien orientée

Les rayons du soleil assainissent les maisons. En effet, un bâtiment constamment à l’ombre en raison de la végétation ou de la présence d’un immeuble à proximité, peut avoir des teneurs en spores et moisissures plus importantes. De la même façon, l’orientation joue sur l’humidité ambiante et donc sur le développement des acariens. L’orientation de la maison et le bon dimensionnement des fenêtres seront donc important pour préserver la santé des habitants et éviter notamment de favoriser les allergies.

Pour en savoir plus sur ce sujet, lire notre article ” Faire construire une maison saine dans le Sud-Ouest

Orienter la maison pour plus de lumière naturelle

Une maison bien conçue permet de se passer au maximum de l’éclairage artificiel. De grandes fenêtres et baies vitrées, bien positionnées, telle est la clé du confort visuel à toute heure de la journée et en toute saison. La réglementation environnementale RE2020 impose ainsi un niveau d’éclairement mais aussi une surface de baies vitrées minimales (1/3 de la surface de façade) dans une habitation. Au delà des économies d’énergie, les effets se font sentir sur le bien-être des occupants qui auront moins de fatigue oculaire et plus de facilité à respecter leur rythme biologique.

Pour en savoir plus lire notre article “ Optimiser la luminosité de votre maison neuve : les astuces de construction “.

Une maison qui favorise les apports solaires

L’hiver est relativement doux dans le Sud-Ouest. En Gironde, dans le Lot et Garonne, en Haute-Garonne ou dans les Pyrénées, les maisons profitent le plus longtemps possible des rayons du soleil. C’est ainsi le plus grand allié des habitants qui souhaitent réduire la consommation d’énergie liée au chauffage de la maison. De grandes fenêtres bien positionnées captent ainsi tous les apports solaires. La bonne conception de la maison et sa très forte isolation font le reste en conservant ces calories gratuites le plus longtemps possible. Les habitants de maisons neuves sont même surpris aujourd’hui de ne plus avoir à allumer le chauffage en plein hiver. Quelle économie !

Pour mieux comprendre comment profiter du moindre rayon de soleil, lire l’article  ” Réduire la facture grâce à l’énergie solaire dans le Sud-Ouest “.

Des protections solaires pour le confort d’été

Alors que l’on parle sans cesse du réchauffement climatique et que nos régions du Sud-Ouest sont sujettes à des canicules estivales, l’orientation de la maison doit aussi prendre en compte le confort d’été. Durant la belle saison au contraire, il faut au maximum se protéger des rayons du soleil afin de limiter le recours aux climatiseurs. Le rôle du constructeur est alors de concilier ce qui semble inconciliable. En été on mise sur les protections solaires. Le soleil étant plus bas l’hiver et les feuilles d’arbres étant tombées, végétations et débords de toit, offrent une ombre en été mais pas en hiver. On peut aussi rajouter des volets, des stores et autres pare-soleil qui feront écran aux rayons du soleil. Les solutions domotiques qui gèrent l’ouverture et la fermeture des volets en fonction de la course du soleil offrent un confort inégalé.

Chez Maisons Sic, le choix des volets s’avère aussi un choix crucial. Pour mieux comprendre l’importance de cet équipement, lire notre article ” Quels volets en maison neuve ?

maison neuve bois bien orientée
Dans cette maison orientation Sud à Audenge, sur le Bassin d’Arcachon, les débords de toit préservent la luminosité mais empêchent les rayons du soleil de pénétrer à l’intérieur du bâtiment en été, mais pas en hiver.

Quelles solutions pour une maison bien orientée?

Lorsque le choix est permis, on privilégie l’orientation Sud. Delà signifie que les pièces de vie comme le salon ou les chambres sont placées contre la façade Sud.
On évite généralement de placer les chambres au Nord. Moins confortables, l’apport solaire y est dix fois moins important qu’au Sud. Ainsi, on évite les fenêtres trop réduites qui privent de l’éclairage naturel.
Un salon exposé plein Ouest est également peu recommandé, surtout dans les régions chaudes comme le Sud-Ouest de la France. Le soleil se couchant à l’Ouest, il est difficile de protéger les baies de ce rayonnement intense et de la chaleur qu’il occasionne dans la maison en été. Les volets de cette façades doivent ainsi pouvoir être fermés en soirée.

Bien dimensionner et placer les fenêtres

La quantité de lumière et de rayon du soleil dont bénéficie une maison dépend des ouvertures. Une position haute des vitrages permet d’éclairer le fond de la pièce. De même des fenêtres de toit offrent un éclairage zénithal de qualité et offrent, à surface égale, trois fois plus de lumière naturelle que les ouvertures en façade. Il est cependant préférable de les placer sur un pan de toiture orienté Nord ou Est pour éviter la surchauffe.

Que faire des pièces orientées Nord ?

Les pièces au Nord ne bénéficient pas des rayons du soleil direct. En raison du développement plus important d’acariens dans ce type d’environnement, il n’est pas recommandé d’y créer les pièces de nuits. En revanche, la quantité de lumière naturelle y est constante et est ainsi bien adaptée à la lecture, aux travaux minutieux, à la création d’un atelier ou au travail sur ordinateur. On peut aussi y placer les pièces comme les toilettes, la buanderie, le garage, la chaufferie

Une orientation Sud pour le salon?

Une orientation Sud pour le salon est une bonne option. Car cette pièce centrale bénéficie d’un maximum de chaleur et de lumière naturelle. En été, la conception architecturale de la maison offrira une pièce ouverte sur l’extérieure mais protégée de la surchauffe estivale. L’idéal étant une pièce traversante avec de grandes baies également au Nord qui laissent entrer la lumière du jour l’été lorsque les façades Sud sont occultées.

Orienter une maison en L ou en U

Les décrochés de ces maisons permettent d’offrir un peu d’ombre à certaines façades. Ainsi, le retour d’une maison en L peut protéger la façade Sud des rayons du soleil tardifs en provenance de l’Ouest. Une bonne façon de se réserver des coins d’ombre aux heures les plus chaudes.

Pour aller plus loin, consultez l’article “ les 6 avantages d’une maison en L “.

Se protéger du bruit

Exposition au bruit : Évitez de placer des pièces comme les chambres, du côté de la rue ou d’une source de bruit importante.
Terrasse et jardin : Si vous aimez passer du temps à l’extérieur, pensez à l’orientation de vos terrasses ou de votre jardin pour profiter du soleil et de l’ombre au bon moment de la journée.
Orienter la maison en fonction du vent : Évitez d’orienter les fenêtres des chambres vers des vents froids dominants ou des vents violents.

Le constructeur spécialiste de l’orientation de la maison

En fin de compte, le choix de l’orientation idéale de votre maison doit être guidé par des professionnels de l’architecture et de la construction. Votre constructeur de maison Maisons Sic réalise des études spécifiques pour implanter la maison sur le terrain et la concevoir en fonction de vos envies, vos besoins et l’environnement.

En conclusion, choisir l’orientation de la maison est une décision cruciale lorsque l’on veut faire contruire. Ce choix impacte le confort, l’efficacité énergétique et la qualité de vie à l’intérieur du logement. Prenez le temps de réfléchir à la place de chacune de vos pièces de vie pour vous assurer que la maison soit toujours confortable et répondent toujours à vos besoins.

 

 

Partager :

Facebook
Twitter
Pinterest
LinkedIn
Email
WhatsApp
Continuer la lecture

Autres articles récents